Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Årabrot released »The World Must Be Destroyed« EP online; announce forthcoming album »Norwegian Gothic« on Pelagic Records

Norwegian noise rockers Årabrot surprisingly released »The World Must Be Destroyed« EP online, which is coming in physical formats on April 9th, 2021 via Pelagic Records.

The band has also announced their forthcoming album »Norwegian Gothic« on Pelagic Records.

01. Inner Sanctum
02. The World Must Be Destroyed
03. The Coming
04. Another Hallucinatory
05. The World Must Be Destroyed (spoken)

Courtesy of US/THEM Group:

Norwegian Grammy Award winning band Årabrot announce their return today with a surprise release 5-song EP »The World Must Be Destroyed«. The band also announces their forthcoming epic 2xLP album »Norwegian Gothic«, due out in April on Pelagic Records. »Norwegian Gothic« will be available for pre-order beginning on January 28th. Hear & share »The World Must Be Destroyed« EP via all major streaming platforms.

Kjetl Nernes, vocalist/guitarist of Årabrot explains the EP thusly: “Originally recorded during the »Who Do You Love« album sessions back in 2017 – the title track even intended as main single but for various reason ended up as an outtake (!) – these songs are among my personal favorites from this period. They are all inspired by Antonin Artaud’s insane masterwork: His ‘biography’ of child emperor Heliogabalus. Hallucinatory, sadistic, overly sexual and above all just completely nutters.”

Produced by the Tall Man himself and the Dark Diva Karin Park. Musicians include Dana Schechter (Insect Ark/Swans), Andrew Liles (Current 93/Nurse With Wound) and tubaist Kristoffer Lo (Highasakite/Motorpsycho). Greg Norman recorded the songs at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio Studios in Chicago.

“After 20 years of doing Årabrot I have learnt one important thing,” Nernes says: “In order to rebuild, it must all be destroyed.”

»Norwegian Gothic« will be available on 2xLP, CD and digital, and »The World Must Be Destroyed« on 10” vinyl and CD on April 9th, 2021 via Pelagic Records. Additional details to come.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.