Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Bulgarian proto-heavy pillars Obsidian Sea to release new album »Pathos« via Ripple Music; listen to epic first single »Sisters«

Bulgarian proto-heavy pillars Obsidian Sea announce their fourth album, »Pathos«, which will be released on February 4th, 2022 via Ripple Music.

Listen to epic first single »Sisters« below!

01. Lament The Death Of Wonder
02. The Long Drowning
03. Sisters
04. Mythos
05. The Revenants
06. I Love The Woods
07. The Meaning of Shadows

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Sofia-based 70’s heavy rockers and kings of epic melodies Obsidian Sea announce the release of their fourth album »Pathos« on February 4th through Ripple Music. Raise your horns to the sound of their brand new single »Sisters«, premiering now on More Fuzz!

Written during months of isolation, their upcoming fourth album »Pathos« is a work in which the trio injected heaviness, and a feeling of naive exuberance, aggression, dreamlike melancholy and introspection all at once – “a therapeutic process of emotional release through the music, but also one of establishing a truer human connection within the band” as described by the trio. This is a record by a band that intends to express utmost honesty without any fear or apology.

About the album theme, vocalist Anton Avramov explains: “The very word ‘pathos’ has, through time, accumulated a rich and sometimes contradictory meaning ranging from pity to disdain, implying care or confrontation. In any sense, it was a fitting title for an album dealing with themes like mourning the lost sense of wonder, longing for a renewed connection with one’s existence that was once seen through myth, fable, rite, and could perhaps still be reached by hope, humility and sacrifice. What could be seen thus as simply a juvenile escapist fantasy could perhaps be thought of as a rather sober look upon the fragility of the romantic and the insistence that a world bereft of wonder is also deprived of honesty and therefore inspiration.”

Pre-order available from December 4th at this location:!

Obsidian Sea formed in 2009 in Sofia, Bulgaria. Their style is a dark and atmospheric take on proto-rock and heavy with a progressive touch and a strong highlight on melodies. The trio has released three albums: »Between Two Deserts« (2012), »Dreams, Illusions, Obsession« (2015) and their Ripple Music debut »Strangers« (2019).

Obsidian Sea is:
Anton Avramov – Guitars, Vocals
Delyan Karaivanov – Bass, Backing Vocals
Bozhidar Parvanov – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.