Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Count Raven reveal the second single »The Ending« taken from their new full-length album »The Sixth Storm«

Swedish doom metal legends Count Raven have revealed the second single »The Ending« taken from their new full-length album, »The Sixth Storm«, which will be released this Friday, October 29th, 2021 via I Hate Records.

The band comments: “You can now listen to »The Ending« – the second new song shared from our forthcoming album »The Sixth Storm« – due to be released on October 29!

You can purchase signed copies of the CD and cassette tape, along with newly printed T-shirts, directly from us:

Vinyl release is expected to be March-April 2022…watch this space. The Raven flies again!”

01. Blood Pope
02. The Curse
03. The Nephilims
04. Heaven’s Door
05. The Ending
06. The Giver And The Taker
07. Baltic Storm
08. Oden
09. Goodbye

From I Hate Records:

Count Raven – »The Sixth Storm« CD/MC to be released October 29th!

Twelve years might seem like an unusually long time to hibernate. Then again, Sweden’s doom legends Count Raven is one of those rare few bands with absolutely nothing left to prove.

In their early beginnings, Count Raven released not one or two but three bonafide doom classics in as many years. Really, either of »Storm Warning« (1990), »Destruction Of The Void« (1992) or »High On Infinity« (1993) is as fine an example as you can find of that crushing, Sabbathian traditional doom – which at the time was spearheaded by the Swedes, alongside the bands of the Maryland doom scene.

Count Raven also solidified their status with one of the most spectacular comeback albums in doom, 2009’s »Mammons War«. With such a track record, it had better be worth it if the raven is to spread its wings and grace gray autumn skies again, right?

Despite some personnel changes around guitarist/singer Dan Fondelius, the new outing »The Sixth Storm« bears all the trademarks of a band that knows exactly what it is and where it comes from. Had Count Raven not been a band so typically not prone to cliches, “Well worth the wait” would have been an apt album title.

The vinyl version (double LP, gatefold) of »The Sixth Storm« is set for the earlier parts of 2022. By then I Hate will also re-release their album »Mammons War« on double LP and gatefold, as well. Vinyl release dates to be announced when possible.

Count Raven is:
Dan “Fodde” Fondelius – Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
Samuel Cornelsen – Bass
Jens Bock – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

One thought on “Count Raven reveal the second single »The Ending« taken from their new full-length album »The Sixth Storm«

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.