Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Culted premiere a music video for Godflesh cover »Crush My Soul« taken from their latest album »Nous«

International blackened doom metal act Culted premiere a music video for Godflesh cover »Crush My Soul« taken from their latest album, »Nous«, released on February 26th 2021 via Season Of Mist.

Says the band: “Our latest video from »Nous«. We are longtime admirers of Justin K Broadrick and Godflesh’s body of sound and have attempted to respectfully interpret and do justice to an incredible song. »Crush My Soul« was the first music we recorded for the album »Nous« and in many ways laid the emotive foundation for its modus operandi. We heartily agree with Decibel Magazine who eloquently stated, ‘In a parallel universe, that (»Crush My Soul«) would be the name of the album.’ »Nous« is available now from Season Of Mist.”

01. Lowest Class
02. Lifers
03. One Last Smoke
04. Ankle Deep
05. Black Bird
06. Opiate The Hounds
07. Maze
08. Crown Of Lies
09. The Grid
10. Crush My Soul (Godflesh cover)

Hailing from the icy expanse of the Canadian prairie to the Nordic coast of Sweden, Culted unleash their new full-length of industrial metal entitled »Nous«. »Nous« was born as a result of its creators attempting to destroy the ego (that chatter and everything outside of pure consciousness that attempts to sabotage you of peace and rob you of the moment) and instead, open themselves up to the nameless muse of sound. »Nous« sees Culted’s collective agony transformed into nihilistic dissonance. Each song drags the listener into the abyss, and through nightmarish caverns of darkness and suffering.

Although they’ve been together for about 8 years, the four members of Culted have never actually been in the same room. Michael Klassen, Matthew Friesen and Kevin Stevenson all grew up in a small town in the middle of the Canadian prairies, while Daniel Jansson makes his home in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Vocals and sound recorded at Culted home studios in Gothenburg, Sweden and Winnipeg, Canada. Drums were recorded at Bedside Studios, Winnipeg, Canada.

Vocals and sound produced, mixed, and recorded by Culted. Drums recorded by Len Milne.

Mastered by John Golden at Golden Mastering (Neurosis, Melvins, Sonic Youth).

On this recording, Culted is:
Daniel Jansson – Vocals, Ambience
Matthew Friesen – Guitars, Bass, Percussion, Noise
Michael Klassen – Guitars, Bass, Percussion, Noise
Kevin Stevenson – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.