Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

EyeHateGod premiere the first single »High Risk Trigger« taken from the upcoming new full-length album, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«

NOLA’s sludge veterans EyeHateGod premiere the first single »High Risk Trigger« taken from the upcoming new full-length album, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«, set to release on March 12th, 2021 via Century Media Records.

01. Built Beneath The Lies
02. The Outer Banks
03. Fake What’s Yours
04. Three Black Eyes
05. Current Situation
06. High Risk Trigger
07. Anemic Robotic
08. The Day Felt Wrong
09. The Trial Of Johnny Cancer
10. Smoker’s Piece
11. Circle Of Nerves
12. Every Thing, Every Day

New Orleans’ EyeHateGod is the snarling, bilious sound of dead-end America. Since 1988, they’ve been a soundtrack for the troubled masses. Ugly music for ugly times. That’s the sense of disenchantment and disease that lies the heart of their latest and sixth full-length album, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«. Anyone familiar with EHG’s story knows this is survivor’s music, a sound unto itself where Sabbathian riffs are meted out with a caustic anger that goes beyond punk. That’s been the blueprint since guitarist Jimmy Bower (also of NOLA supergroup, Down) founded the band in 1988 with vocalist Mike IX Williams joining not long after. With a discography including sludge-punk mainstays like »In The Name Of Suffering« (1990), »Take As Needed For Pain« (1993), »Dopesick« (1996) or 2014’s eponymously-titled LP, released in the US through Housecore Records, EHG laid the cracked foundation for their infamous and influential sound. »A History Of Nomadic Behavior« finds the band, now slimmed to a four-piece rounded out by bassist Gary Mader and drummer Aaron Hill, leaner and meaner than ever; road-hardened by recent tours with Black Label Society, Corrosion Of Conformity and Napalm Death in the US and abroad. From the bitter pill of opener »Built Beneath The Lies« to the hypnotic haze of closer »Every Thing, Every Day« it’s clear that that EyeHateGod hasn’t slowed or mellowed with time. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. This is disorienting, uneasy listening. Music that still very much hurts.

EyeHateGod have set a March 12 release date for the band’s first new full-length album in seven years, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«.

The album news arrives with a visualizer for »High Risk Trigger« a taste of what’s to come on the 12-song album. Lyrically, the song is cryptic and abstract, but it touches on the all-pervasive fears bred by an invisible germ storm sweeping through the nation and a society sickened by police brutality: “Infection is the way, disruptive crowd takes aim/burn down the rail yard house, destroy the U.S.A.”

Singer Mike IX Williams said of the songs on the album, “We’re not a political band, but it was hard not to be affected by the news from the past year. During this recording, I thought a lot about how stupid humanity has become and how America is now completely divided with these people who don’t believe in science and blindly follow liars and nonsensical ideologies. Some of those feelings may have found their way into these songs, but it is mostly subliminal.”

»A History Of Nomadic Behavior« follows a period that saw the New Orleans based band on the road for three years, preceded by Williams suffering liver failure and a transplant. “We toured our asses off for three years and that’s where »A History Of Nomadic Behavior« basically comes from,” adds Williams before touching on his health challenge: “Death is a part of life, it’s a roll of the dice. Sometimes you take life as it comes, other times you fight to stay alive.” The album was produced by EyeHateGod, Sanford Parker (Yob, Voivod) and James Whitten (Thou, High On Fire), with mixing by Whitten. The band recorded at HighTower Recording and Hypercube Studios.

The album is available in the following formats:
• CD Digipak – all outlets
• Black LP+CD & Poster – all outlets
• Digital Album – all platforms
• Coke bottle green LP+CD & Poster (limited to 200) – Century Media EU Online Shop
• Grey LP+CD & Poster (limited to 200) – Century Media Distro
• Magenta LP+CD & Poster (limited to 300) – Century Media Distro
• Creamy white LP+CD & Poster (limited to 200) – EMP & Nuclear Blast
• Lilac LP+CD & Poster (limited to 200) – Bandshop

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.