Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

EyeHateGod premiere the third single »Built Beneath The Lies« taken from their new album, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«

New Orleans sludge/doom metal legends EyeHateGod premiere the third single »Built Beneath The Lies« taken from their upcoming full-length album, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«, set to release on March 12th, 2021 via Century Media Records.

Singer Mike IX Williams said of the track: “»Built Beneath The Lies« is another acidic EyeHateGod song playing in the background while the back alleys burn with nervous alcoholic tension and people all over cancel their summer plans to stare at the wall…”

“»Built Beneath The Lies« is the third preview of the 12-song album, with the New Orleans-based band releasing both the “bulldozing” (Revolver) song »Fake What’s Yours« and the prescient “banger” (Stereogum) »High Risk Trigger«. Early coverage of the album points to a worthy return for the storied sludge outfit, with The Pit saying »A History Of Nomadic Behavior« “keeps up their incredible legacy” and Exclaim noting the release “offers all of the moody, distorted aggression that we’ve come to expect from the band.”

»A History Of Nomadic Behavior« follows a period that saw the New Orleans based band on the road for three years, preceded by Williams suffering liver failure and a transplant. “We toured our asses off for three years and that’s where »A History Of Nomadic Behavior« basically comes from,” adds Williams before touching on his health challenge: “Death is a part of life, it’s a roll of the dice. Sometimes you take life as it comes, other times you fight to stay alive.” The album was produced by EyeHateGod, Sanford Parker (Yob, Voivod) and James Whitten (Thou, High On Fire), with mixing by Whitten. The band recorded at HighTower Recording and Hypercube Studios.

01. Built Beneath The Lies
02. The Outer Banks
03. Fake What’s Yours
04. Three Black Eyes
05. Current Situation
06. High Risk Trigger
07. Anemic Robotic
08. The Day Felt Wrong
09. The Trial Of Johnny Cancer
10. Smoker’s Piece
11. Circle Of Nerves
12. Every Thing, Every Day

New Orleans’ EyeHateGod is the snarling, bilious sound of dead-end America. Since 1988, they’ve been a soundtrack for the troubled masses. Ugly music for ugly times. That’s the sense of disenchantment and disease that lies the heart of their latest and sixth full-length album, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«. Anyone familiar with EHG’s story knows this is survivor’s music, a sound unto itself where Sabbathian riffs are meted out with a caustic anger that goes beyond punk. That’s been the blueprint since guitarist Jimmy Bower (also of NOLA supergroup, Down) founded the band in 1988 with vocalist Mike IX Williams joining not long after. With a discography including sludge-punk mainstays like »In The Name Of Suffering« (1990), »Take As Needed For Pain« (1993), »Dopesick« (1996) or 2014’s eponymously-titled LP, released in the US through Housecore Records, EyeHateGod laid the cracked foundation for their infamous and influential sound. »A History Of Nomadic Behavior« finds the band, now slimmed to a four-piece rounded out by bassist Gary Mader and drummer Aaron Hill, leaner and meaner than ever; road-hardened by recent tours with Black Label Society, Corrosion Of Conformity and Napalm Death in the US and abroad. From the bitter pill of opener »Built Beneath The Lies« to the hypnotic haze of closer »Every Thing, Every Day« it’s clear that that EyeHateGod hasn’t slowed or mellowed with time. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. This is disorienting, uneasy listening. Music that still very much hurts.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.