Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Heavy Psych Sounds reissued Yawning Man’s albums »Nomadic Pursuits«, »Historical Graffiti« and »The Birth Of Sol« in brand new coloured vinyls!

Heavy Psych Sounds has just reissued the albums »Nomadic Pursuits«, »Historical Graffiti« and »The Birth Of Sol« by desert rock godfathers Yawning Man in brand new coloured vinyls.

*** Yawning Man – »Nomadic Pursuits« ***

Heavy Psych Sounds is reissiung the Yawning Man legendary album »Nomadic Pursuits« in brand new coloured vinyls and new cover.

»Nomadic Pursuits« is the second Yawning Man studio album, released in 2010. With a five-year gap between the first album and this one, the band had time to further expand on their freeform desert sound.

Heavy Psych Sounds is now giving new life to this psychedelic gem with a new special edition!

01. Camel Tow
02. Sand Whip
03. Far-Off Adventure
04. Blue Foam
05. Ground Swell
06. Camel Tow Two
07. Laster Arte

Release date: October 21, 2022

Released in:
• 10 Ultra Ltd Test Press Vinyl
• 100 Ultra Ltd Transparent Back. Splatter Blue/orange Vinyl
• 400 Ltd Green Vinyl
• Black Viniyl
• Digipak

Grab your copy here:
USA shop:

*** Yawning Man – »Historical Graffiti« ***

Heavy Psych Sounds is reissuing the Yawning Man legendary album »Historical Graffiti« in brand new coloured vinyls.

»Historical Graffiti« is the band’s fourth full-length, out in 2016.

Gary Arce, the guitarist, seems comfortable sitting on a single vamp throughout the opener »The Wind Cries Edalyn«, allowing the additions of violin and bandoleon accordion (played by the tango musicians Sara Ryan and Adolfo Trepiana, respectively) to weave melodies in between. Despite the titular connection to the Jimi Hendrix song, it bears no discernible resemblance to »The Wind Cries Mary« and it is a deceptive number; what seems such a simple, almost easy-listening song reveals more colour with every listen.

»Her Phantom Finger of Copenhagen« is slightly darker and almost sounds, with the slight distortion on Arce’s guitar, as if it could have come from »Pot Head, the EP the band released in 2005. Mario Lalli, the bass player, begins the third song, »Naomi Crayola« with a throbbing single note, aided by Bill Stimson’s metronomic drumming. Imagine if Can grew up near the beach, it’s that sort of vibe. The only problem with the song – and the album, as it happens – is that it is too short.

Ryan’s violin returns in »The Secret Language Of Elephants«, this time playing the role of keeping the main vamp alive while Arce’s guitar generates an evocative soundscape that opens in your mind a wide, violet sky like that above a desert the moment after the sun disappears for the night.

The closing song and title track is the most free of the five on the album, with Stimson’s beat conjuring memories of Kyuss’s more mellow moments from »Welcome To Sky Valley«, Lalli’s bass marking the simplest of bottom ends and Arce having a ball over the top. (taken from the band’s Bandcamp)

01. The Wind Cries Edalyn
02. Her Phantom Finger Of Copenhagen
03. Naomi Crayola
04. The Secret Language Of Elephants
05. Historical Graffiti

Release date: October 14, 2022

Released in:
• 10 Ultra Ltd Test Press Vinyl
• 100 Ultra Ltd 3 Colors Striped Vinyl
• 400 Ltd Pink Vinyl
• Black Vinyl
• Digipak

Grab your copy here:
USA shop:

*** Yawning Man – »The Birth Of Sol« ***

Heavy Psych Sounds is reissung the Yawning Man old demo recordings »The Birth Of Sol« in brand new coloured vinyls and new cover.

Dating back to 1986, these demo recordings by Yawning Man were originally only spread amongst close friends of the band. They were released on iTunes in 2009. Today you can have them on brand new coloured vinyls in gatefold sleeve.

01. Tuff Dude
02. Dots, Lines And Mesh
03. Faith Cakes
04. Devil’s Ladder
05. Sour Glaze
06. Kone Of Meet
07. Menso
08. Sinkhole
09. SLAB
10. Fires Of Papas Chile
11. Saucey And Saggy
12. Paseo Lindo
13. Change For A Beggar
14. Bet I’ll Six
15. Sweet Nuggat
16. Saco
17. Three Legged Table
18. Deaf Conductor
19. Catamaran
20. Crack, Harden, Dry
21. Friends Of Me
22. The Lonely Rancher
23. Pheasant Under Glass

Release date: October 14, 2022

Released in double gatefold vinyl:
• 10 Ultra Ltd Test Press Vinyls
• 100 Ultra Ltd Transparent Back. Splatter Black And Red Vinyls
• 400 Ltd Red Vinyls
• Black Vinyls
• Digipak

Grab your copy here:
USA shop:

Formed in the late 1980’s, the lineup of Gary Arce, Mario Lalli, and Bill Stinson rounds out their yearlong active recording and touring schedule. Arce and Lalli’s background together date back to the start of Yawning Man with Stinson’s background steeped in the SST Records world through performing and recording with Gregg Ginn and Chuck Dukowski of Black Flag for several years.

Yawning Man is acknowledged and recognized throughout the underground heavy music community as a key piece in the developments of the desert/stoner rock subgenres. While their contemporaries gravitated toward the heavy riffs of grunge, and post punk, Yawning Man leaned in another direction with their unique and organic, cinematic compositions and psychedelic improvisations…the perfect soundtrack to encompass the spacious moonscape atmosphere of the well documented “generator parties” of their area in the late 1980’s.

It was at these gatherings where they developed this distinctive style and sound by enchanting spectators with their seemingly endless free form instrumental sessions, which echoed through the beautiful deserts, mesas, and landscapes of the Coachella Valley. As time passed, their legend grew with notable names of the Palm Desert music scene paying homage to the group through mention and praise, notably with legendary desert band Kyuss (Joshua Homme, Brant Bjork, John Garcia, Scott Reeder) doing their own rendition of the Yawning Man track »Catamaran« on the 1995 Elektra release »…And The Circus Leaves Town«.

Festival appearances include Hellfest (FR), Azkena Fest (ES), Reverence Fest (ES) Desertfest London, Desertfest Berlin, Up in Smoke (CH), Psycho Las Vegas (US), Stoned & Dusted I & II (US), and various others. The recent documentaries on the Deserts unique music scene Lo Sound Desert and Desert Age give light on Yawning Man’s influential impact on underground rock music.

Yawning Man is:
Gary Arce – Guitars
Mario Lalli – Bass
Bill Stinson – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.