Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Ilsa premiere the first track »Poor Devil« taken from their upcoming studio album, »Preyer«

Washington, D.C. based death/doom metal band Ilsa premiere the first track »Poor Devil« taken from their upcoming studio album, »Preyer«, set to release on November 20th on LP/CD/Digital via Relapse Records.

01. Epigraph
02. Poor Devil
03. Moonflower
04. Shibboleth
05. Mother Of God
06. Scavengers
07. Widdershins
08. Preyer
09. Lady Diamond
10. Behind The Veil
11. The Square Coliseum

Formed in 2008, Washington, D.C.’s Ilsa has wasted no time in spreading its unique brand of cloying, compelling and crusty death/doom throughout the underground and beyond. Ever since the release of its debut full-length »The Maggots Are Hungry«, Ilsa has produced nearly one effort every year. The band has shown just as much ambition on the live circuit as well.

From Relapse Records:

On Ilsa’s new album, »Preyer«, the Washington, D.C. band embraces sonic pummeling like never before. Recorded as the world shuttered away in 2020, Ilsa harnessed the fears and uncertainties of troubled times, and used these as driving forces for their unnerving metal’s raw, chaotic, and whipping intensity. The result is a new full-length that delivers overdoses of crushing doom and menacing death metal.

The ghost of the Satanic murderer Sean Sellers still haunts the band. The notorious killer was the first and remains the only person executed in the U.S. for a crime committed under the age of 17 since the reinstatement of the death penalty in 1976. “These songs were written with his life in mind,” the band states. “Sean’s story is an exploitative intersection of religious, media and state authority, culminating in his 1999 execution for murders committed in a state of self-described Demonic Possession.”

But make no mistake, »Preyer« is not simply a narrative or concept album. Remaining true to Ilsa’s punk ethos, »Preyer« serves as a cathartic condemnation of a Christo-fascist society, a corrupt class dimension, and the evil cruelty behind it all. “»Preyer« is a wringing of these themes for the sweat and stink. Power’s destructive force, love and other extremist positions, religious fanaticism, depression & mental illness, social order and control.”

In the midst of the darkness that continues to take hold, Ilsa remain observant and pull no punches. With tracks such as »Poor Devil«, »Shibboleth«, and the album’s title track, the band are poised to release one of the year’s most vicious offerings from the underground.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.