Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Italian doom/sludge/drone supergroup Formalist presents their sophomore album »We Inherit A World At The Seams«, out today via Brucia Records

Italian doom/sludge/drone supergroup Formalist presents their sophomore album, »We Inherit A World At The Seams«, which was just released today, May 25th, 2023 via Brucia Records. Featuring members of Forgotten Tomb, Malasangre and Viscera///.

01. Warfare
02. Monuments
03. Selfish

Courtesy of Brucia Records:

»We Inherit A World At The Seams« is the sophomore release by doom/sludge/drone outfit Formalist.

The album is released on May 25th, 2023 on digital and 6 panels Digipack CD. Order your copy here:

Formalist is a supergroup featuring members of some Italian heavyweights bands such as Forgotten Tomb [Ferdinando “HM” Marchisio – vocals], Malasangre [Riccardo Rossi – drums] and Viscera/// [Michele Basso – guitars].

After the critically acclaimed »No One Will Shine Anymore« (2018), Formalist are now back and their aim is still one and the same: opening new gates of total sonic horrors.

»We Inherit A World At The Seams« is a monumentally nihilistic record – a low-tuned nightmare combining the most vicious forms of black metal, doom, sludge and drone, and taking their fear inducing and menacing sound literally to the extremes.

The Formalist unit handles their weapons of sonic destruction with purpose and sadistic intent, here delivering some of the heaviest, most cacophonic and gloomiest doom/sludge metal around, and featuring layers upon layers of rumbling noise, shrieking guitar feedback and desperate howls singing the end of a dying world.

The lyrics are a first person account tackling themes such as darkness, despair and social unrest, and narrating the world’s downfall with an hallucinatory and yet detached style.

Terrifyingly suffocating and massively obscure slow music for the disenchanted.


Recorded and mixed in several excruciating sessions amidst the plague of 2020 and 2021 at Elfo Studio, Tavernago (PC), Italy by Alex Lizzori and Formalist.
Mastered at Elfo Studio by Daniele Mandelli, summer 2022.

All lyrics by Ferdinando Marchisio.
Music for »Warfare« by Michele Basso.
Music for »Monuments« by Ferdinando Marchisio & Michele Basso.
Music for »Selfish« by Michele Basso & Nicola Casella.

All arrangements by the Formalist unit.
Electronics & industrial disturbances by Riccardo Rossi & Michele Basso.
Cover-artwork concept by Ferdinando Marchisio.
Band picture by Marta Piroli.
Artworks and graphic layout by Evokaos (Brucia Records).

Ferdinando Marchisio – Vocals
Michele Basso – Guitars & Electronics
Marcello Groppi – Bass
Riccardo Rossi – Drums & Electronics

FFO: Khanate, Corrupted, Teeth of Lions Rule The Divine, Grief

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.