Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows presents their second full-length album »The Magnetic Ridge«

Melbourne, Australia based heavy psych/desert rock band Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows presents their second full-length album, »The Magnetic Ridge«, which was just released this Monday, May 17th, 2021 via Psychedelic Salad Records and Forbidden Place Records.

01. The Tale Of
02. The Magnetic Ridge
03. De La Luna
04. Rat Poisoning
05. Dream Sequence 1
06. Langolier
07. Stray
08. Dream Sequence 2
09. The Painter In The Woods
10. Absolved Pt. 1
11. Absolved Pt. 2
12. Black Road

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows.
Original artwork painted by Adam Burke / Nightjar Illustration.

Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows return with a blistering new album to awaken you from the slumber of the past twelve months. »The Magnetic Ridge« is the long-awaited follow-up to the band’s debut album, »Hymns«, which reached #18 on the Doom Charts in July 2018.

As is the case with their previous releases, the album explores the trials and tribulations of a drug-addicted western outlaw, Jack Harlon, who is questioning the reality of the experiences placed before him.

Album artwork has once again been provided by Adam Burke / Nightjar Illustration. »The Magnetic Ridge« is released on vinyl through Psychedelic Salad Records and cassette/CD through Forbidden Place Records on May 17th.

Tim Coutts-Smith comments: “Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows’ new album is out today, and I couldn’t be happier. It took a LOT longer than I expected to put it together, but on days like today I am glad I didn’t rush one second of it.

For me this album was written more like a novel – almost every day last year I was upstairs chipping away at what felt like this megalithic project. I was immersed in a very vivid world in my mind and I was hoping I could translate what was going well enough to be understood by other people.

A whole heap of things in my life were changing while I wrote this album, and listening back I can now see how they shaped how the whole thing sounds. It’s like the album is a projected imprint of my brain.

When you are listening to this, you are listening to me. The love, the sadness, the laughter (literally, you can hear that on there), the hate, the connection and disconnection, me at my strongest and sure-as-hell at my weakest. It’s all there.

A huge thank you firstly to my bandmates, who have never faulted to put Jack Harlon as an important priority in their lives: Josh Martin, Jordan Richardson and Liam Barry.

To my partner Han, who had to listen to the same sounds over and over again but always supported the process.

Adam from Psychedelic Salad, who has cared for this as if it were his own baby too.

To Forbidden Place Records for being the first US label to give us a chance.

Anthony from Your Mate Bookings, who we’d be absolutely NO WHERE without.

My greyhound Lily, who literally sat by my side for every second of the writing.

And finally thank you to everyone that has given a damn to listen to us through the years. Any artist will tell you it’s the smallest gestures that go the longest way. Simply hearing from somebody I don’t know seeking out my art is enough to make my day.

Anyway, I’ll stop hogging the mic now. Enjoy »The Magnetic Ridge«!
I love you all, and thank you.”

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.