Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Katatonia stream the brand new live lockdown session album, »Dead Air«, out today via Peaceville Records

Swedish melancholic rockers Katatonia have unveiled their live performance of the »City Burials« single »Lacquer«, taken from the brand new live lockdown session album, »Dead Air«, out today via Peaceville Records.

“»Dead Air« is a document and a remembrance of a strange and surreal situation, as well as true evidence of the love for music – both ours and that shown by our fans.” vocalist Jonas Renkse explains what »Dead Air« means to the band.

Katatonia performed an extensive and majestic set of fan favourites plus the live premiere of 3 songs from »City Burials«, captured during their May 2020 lockdown session.

Formed in 1991 by Jonas Renkse and Anders Nyström, and transitioning from early pioneers of the rising black/death/doom movement, to powerhouses of the progressive metallic rock genre, 2020 saw Katatonia present their eleventh studio opus, the poignant »City Burials«, to unanimous acclaim. And so now, following closely in its footsteps, the Swedish dark rock masters present »Dead Air« to further immortalise the strangest of times.

With a somewhat unforeseen global event transpiring this year which resulted in touring being made all but impossible for artists internationally, Katatonia conducted a more intimate “lockdown” show which was streamed live from Studio Grondahl, Stockholm on May 9th. »Dead Air« offers fans a full 88-minute set containing 20 tracks from the band’s extensive and illustrious repertoire to date, with inclusions spanning two decades of dark progressive greatness, and essentially also debuting three of the »City Burials« album tracks in a live setting.

The tracklisting itself contains a very literal selection of fan favourites overall, having being voted for exclusively by the band’s worldwide fanbase, flawlessly flirting between earlier singles such as metallic anthems »My Twin« and »July«, to the stirring emotional grandeur of new song, »Lacquer«.

The recording, mixing & engineering work was orchestrated by David Castillo, notable for his extensive body of work with Katatonia to date, and the performance itself was professionally filmed by Blackbox Video.

Katatonia is:
Jonas Renkse – Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Programming
Anders Nyström – Guitars, Programming, Backing Vocals
Roger Öjersson – Guitars
Niklas Sandin – Bass
Daniel Moilanen – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.