Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Malignant Aura’s debut album »Abysmal Misfortune Is Draped Upon Me« out now via Bitter Loss Records

Australian death/doom metal band Malignant Aura presents their debut album, »Abysmal Misfortune Is Draped Upon Me«, which was just released on May 31st, 2022 via Bitter Loss Records.

01. Malignant Aura
02. In A Timeless Place Beneath The Earth
03. There Is Blackness In The Water
04. Abysmal Misfortune Is Draped Upon Me
05. A Silioquy Beneath The Sepulchre
06. …And So It Was That I Lay Down Forever

Recorded by Brendan Auld at Black Blood Audio.
Mastered by Arthur Rizk.
Cover art by Paolo Girardi.

An apparition born of Australian death metal alumni, Malignant Aura channels forlorn echoes of the past into crushingly bleak, original death doom. Their debut album, »Abysmal Misfortune Is Draped Upon Me«, is a sombre reflection on the spectral and corporeal aspects of the human struggle. Sorrowful melodies and bludgeoning riffs form tortured, oft lumbering death metal – for fans of genre classics like early Paradise Lost, Incantation, Hooded Menace, Mournful Congregation, Disembowelment and My Dying Bride.

The band comments: “In partnership with Bitter Loss Records, we are pleased to finally unleash our debut record – »Abysmal Misfortune Is Draped Upon Me«. This is an album both lumbering and turbulent, coalescing sorrowful melodies and bludgeoning riffs into an experience befitting those with a penchant for the genre classics!

The cover features artwork from acclaimed Italian painter, Paolo Girardi. Collaborating with Paolo has allowed us to visually substantiate our lyrics – six philosophical dread-laden tales, exploring spectral and corporeal aspects of the human struggle.

The album was written in Brisbane and Melbourne, Australia. Its twisted passages were recorded at Black Blood Audio, by the brutal Brendan Auld, and deftly mastered in the USA by the venerable Arthur Rizk.

We hope you enjoy »Abysmal Misfortune Is Draped Upon Me«. This truly is one for those marching slowly unto ruin and woe.”

Double LP, CD and exclusive launch merch available through Bitter Loss Records: and

Malignant Aura is:
Pete Robertson – Drums
Chris Clark – Guitar
Dalton Quade Wilson – Guitar
John Ennis – Bass
Tim Smith – Vocals

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.