Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Nepal Death share a music video for the track »Sadhu Satan (The Durukti Mantra)«

Malmö, Sweden based heavy psychedelic rockers Nepal Death share a music video for the track »Sadhu Satan (The Durukti Mantra)« taken from their self-titled debut album, out on February 19th, 2021 via Kommun2.

This song present the darker corners of this musical collective. Maybe it’s a praise to the Hindu demon Durukti or a sad hymn to someone who carries a great darkness inside. Someone that you hold on to even though it makes your life a living hell.

Imagine Charles Manson and Anton LaVey teaming up with a band of fake Hare Krishna cult members speeding towards Kathmandu in a run down VW bus along the dusty Hippie Trail in 1966. That may give you the idea what Swedish musical collective Nepal Death are all about.

Nepal Death is Eastern tinged heavy psychedelic rock: Angst ridden vocals on top of a compact wall of fuzz guitars, heavy bass and ritualistic drum beats all backed up by chants, religious bells and flutes, freaky backward sounds and eerie tanpura drones.

The album is released by Swedish psych/progressive label Kommun2 and features guest appearances from members of bands such as Agusa, Coph Nia, Yuri Gagarin and Rymdstyrelsen.

01. Eik Dei (Intro)
02. The Hippie Trail
03. Sadhu Satan (The Durukti Mantra)
04. Shadow Empress Of Kathmandu
05. She Smelled Of Hash
06. Hindu Psyche (Intro)
07. Wytches
08. Om Kali Ma
09. Tonight Will Die
10. Sita Ram
11. Dead In Nepal

Nepal Death’s style draws from seventies heavy rock bands such as Hawkwind and Blue Öyster Cult. Psychedelic rock in the vein of Amon Düül II and Uncle Acid And The Deadbeats are other strong influences along with traditional musical vibes from Turkey, Afghanistan and India. Occult references mixed with Hindu mysticism are also prominent in the band’s lyrics and aesthetics.

The musicians:
Anders Hallberg – Voice
Magnus Könberg – Drums and Percussion, 12 Stringed Acoustic Guitar
Markus Mannberg – Electric Bass Guitar
Cecilia Paisley – Chants
Bo Pettersson – Electric Guitar
Tobias Pettersson – Electric Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.