Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Norwegian classic rock trio Orango to release new studio album »Mohican« on October 7th via Stickman Records

Norwegian classic rock trio Orango will release their new studio album »Mohican« on October 7th, 2022 via Stickman Records.

Watch a music video for thei latest single »Running Out Of Reason«!

01. The Creek
02. Bring You Back Home
03. Fryin
04. Wild River Song
05. Cold Wind
06. Running Out Of Reasons
07. Hawkeye
08. War Camp
09. Dust & Dirt
10. Ain’t No Road

Courtesy of Nosiolution:

Orango, Norway’s melodic classic rock powerhouse, is back with a new studio album. On »Mohican« the trio around Helge Bredeli Kanck, Trond Slåke and Hallvard Gaardløs – together with some guests – present ten tracks that prove that they are far from running out of breath.

If you didn’t know they were hiding in the mountains of Norway, you’d think Orango would be at home in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee or on the shores of Southern California. Between the band’s southern-tinged, soulful riffs and sun-drenched three-part vocal harmonies, they offer masterclass classic rock. »Mohican« feels particularly warm and personal, a thread of yearning running through the album’s ten songs.

Photo by Gunnar Knutsen

Perhaps this is due to the period of transition and alienation the band was in during the songwriting process, as guitarist/vocalist Helge Kanck explains: “»Mohican« wasn’t always the plan. I had written enough songs for three more albums, but during the pandemic the band saw little of each other, didn’t play gigs, and the tour in support of our »Battles« re-release was canceled due to the release coinciding with Norway’s Corona lockdown. It felt like very dark and boring times. But after some good rehearsals, we were ready to pick up where we left off. »Mohican« is an album full of good spirits and the recording sessions were consistently great times with all the band members giving their all and working hard to make our best album yet. Real band harmony!”

Incidentally, two songs were originally recorded entirely by Helge Kanck for a solo album, but with the intention of restarting the band, Slåke and Gaardløs recorded more vocal tracks and brought the songs back into the Orango sound.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.