Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Slowpoke stream their self-titled debut album, available now on all major streaming platforms

Canadian doom/punk/psychedelic trio Slowpoke stream their self-titled debut album, which was just released on August 22nd, 2021. »Slowpoke« is available now on all major streaming platforms.

01. Stony Iommi
02. Slumlord
03. Sid The Cat
04. Miami Camo
05. Windtalker
06. Sanctuary
07. Slowpoke

Mixed by Rick Hollett at Red house Recording.
Mastered by Chris Keffer at Magnetic North Studio.
Album art by Britni Catfood.

Courtesy of Infecting Cells PR:

Canadian Doom/Punk/Psychedelic band Slowpoke release their debut self-titled LP. The LP was recorded mixed by Rick Hollett at Redhouse Recording in NL Canada (sHeavy, Hey Rosetta!) and mastered by Chris Keffer (Black Keys, Cheap Trick) at Magnetic North Studio in Utah, USA. Slowpoke adds, “It’s been a privilege working with such a talented team. We worked hard on the album and we can’t wait to get it out there.”

Slowpoke’s self-titled debut runs the gamut of heavy genres. It features epic, psychedelic passages that transition to fast punk rock, righteous riffs, fuzz-laden doom and some straight up rock and roll. Slowpoke keeps things interesting with progressive songwriting and by drawing from a wide range of inspiration including bands like Clutch, The Melvins, Muse, Queens Of The Stone Age, Black Sabbath and many more.

The album is available on all major streaming platforms.

Slowpoke formed in St John’s Newfoundland Canada in 2018 by Ben Chapman-Smith (Bass, Vocals) and Cameron Legge (Guitar). In early 2019 Adam Young (Drums) joined the band. The trio went on to record the bedrock of their upcoming album »Slowpoke« and closed the night at Still Heavy’s Midsummer Mayhem 3 festival and were dubbed the “hidden gem of the evening” by Tony Carew owner of Still Heavy. COVID-19 made live performances a non-option in 2020 so Slowpoke went inside and worked away at their release, and applied for a MusicNL Artist development grant which they received in January 2021. Upon receiving the grant Slowpoke enlisted the services of Rick Hollet at Redhouse Recording (sHeavy, Hey Rosetta!) for mixing and Chris Keffer at Magnetic North Studios (The Black Keys, Cheap Trick) for mastering.

Slowpoke is:
Cameron Legge – Guitar
Ben Chapman-Smith – Bass, Vocals
Adam Young – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.