Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

The Electric Mud unveil the opening track »The First Murder On Mars« from their upcoming studio album, »Burn The Ships«

Fort Myers, Florida based stoner rock band The Electric Mud unveil the opening track »The First Murder On Mars« from their upcoming studio album, »Burn The Ships«, set to release on September 25, 2020 via Small Stone Records.

01. The First Murder On Mars
02. Stone Hands
03. Reptile
04. A Greater Evil
05. Call the Judge
06. Priestess
07. Good Monster
08. Led Belly
09. Terrestrial Birds

Cowbell on »Stone Hands« by Jamie Dunwell.
Engineered and mixed by Matt Washburn at LedBelly Sound.
Mastered by Chris Goosman at Baseline Audio Labs.

Crawling from the humid, mangrove choked banks of the Caloosahatche river, The Electric Mud drifted from late night jam sessions, back yard keggers and a revolving cast of members until one night, in the taproom of a closed up brewery, Peter Kolter, Pierson Whicker, Tommy Scott, and Constantine Grim found themselves in an old fashioned Morricone style standoff. Each had reputations around their Florida town as serious musicians and hard workers, and after throwing lightning bolts around the room for a few hours it became clear that they had found not just a band, but a sound.

Steeped in in their love for the Allman Brothers and Lynyrd Skynyrd and their shared Florida roots, came also a deep appreciation for the proto metal of Black Sabbath and the prog metal of Mastodon, and the band aimed to slow cook it and serve it to the masses. After countless hours of grueling rehearsals and gigging in the dives and biker bars of their hometown, The Electric Mud released its debut album, »Bull Gator«, in 2018, and hit the road.

With the hard work came opportunity, with the band opening not just for Southern Rock legends such as Molly Hatchet, Blackfoot, The Devon Allman Band, Brother Hawk, and others and also winning a tri-state battle of the bands competition that drew the eye of Matt Washburn, owner/operator of Ledbelly sound studios (Mastodon, Elder, Royal Thunder) in north Georgia. The band and Matt hit it off immediately, and the band decamped to the peach state in 2019 to write and record its follow up album, falling in along the way with the legendary Small Stone Records. Keep both eyes peeled in 2020, as The Electric Mud releases »Burn The Ships« on Small Stone Records and and will hit the road like a sledgehammer in 2021.

Electric Mud is:
Constantine Grim – Guitar
Peter Kolter – Vocals and Guitar
Tommy Scott – Bass
Pierson Whicker – Drums and Percussion

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.