Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Thunder Horse stream the second single and title track taken from the upcoming album »Chosen One«

Texas-based heavy rockers Thunder Horse stream the second single and title track taken from the upcoming album »Chosen One«, which is coming out on March 12th, 2021 via Ripple Music.

Vocalist Stephen Bishop about the song: “»Chosen One« was one of the first song ideas I came up with for this album. Lyrically speaking, it is no secret that the US has been going through some serious shit the past couple of years. I have never seen it this bad; and I’ve been around for a while! I was amazed to see things I learned about in school happening in real time, right before my eyes: echo chambers, gaslighting, groupthink, etc. It was too prevalent to NOT write about it. People in power will take advantage of us, regardless of your political affiliation. They are self serving and disguise themselves as servants to their constituents, but we all know that they are liars and only work to fill their own pockets. We are expected to get in line and wait for the crumbs they allow us to scavenge. It is similar to the iconic imagery in »The Wall«; i.e. the conveyor belt of faceless, mindless zombies lining up for the grinder. This song highlights those people, and how ready and eager some people are to simply get own their knees and quit. It boils down too Are you the sheep, or are you the chosen ones?”

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

The sound of San Antonio’s Thunder Horse doesn’t quite fit into one box, but they are built thick with doom, psych, occult, and classic rock and blues influences. Close your eyes and imagine the brooding sounds of early Sabbath, the massive wall of guitars made famous by bands like Deep Purple and Mountain, on a sonically mesmerizing Pink Floyd trip, and you will have a taste of the experience that Thunder Horse brings.

New album »Chosen One« will be released on March 12th through Ripple Music and available on various LP formats, CD and digital.

01. Let Them Bleed
02. Among The Dead
03. Rise Of The Heathens
04. Chosen One
05. Broken Dreams
06. Song For The Ferryman
07. Texas
08. Halfway To Hell
09. Remembrance
10. Dear Mr. Fantasy (bonus track)
11. Texas (extended version)

Thunder Horse is led by vocalist and guitarist Stephen Bishop, a mainstay for many years on the Texas industrial metal scene as the frontman for Pitbull Daycare (Cleopatra Records, MIA Records). Aided and abetted by fellow PD founder, T.C. Connally is the lead guitarist. With each’s playing influenced in no small part by some of the most iconic band members of the late 60s and 70s – Roger Waters, Michael Schenker, Toni Iommi, and Robin Trower – together, Thunder Horse’s songwriting duties are divvied equally, in line with a passion for all things heavy.

Taking a DIY approach, Thunder Horse released their self-titled debut in June 2018 to glowing press reviews. Original lineup intact, the band now returns with their second full-length »Chosen One«, once again featuring original artwork by Pig Hands, and mixing done by Caleb Bingham at Nightmare Sound and mastering by Joe Bozzi at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Los Angeles, CA.

»Chosen One« is a musical journey that expands the band’s catalog by experimenting with different sounds and influences. Metal played slow and low, with an intensity inspired by icons past and present. A wall of amps and an almost tribal rhythmic vibe produces a guttural sound with intensely mind-bending sensations. Imagine if Black Sabbath and Jane’s Addiction melded into one band and had a Pink Floyd influenced stage show with a Quadraphonic PA: that is Thunder Horse. The album was completed in 2020 while socially-distanced during the pandemic, and will see its official release on March 12th, 2021 via Ripple Music.

Thunder Horse is:
Stephen Bishop – Guitar, Vocals
T.C. Connally – Lead Guitar
Dave Crow – Bass
Jason ‘Shakes’ West – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.