Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Absent In Body featuring current and former members of Amenra, Neurosis and Sepultura announce debut album and premiere music video

Current and former members of Amenra, Neurosis and Sepultura teamed up to form a sludge/post-metal collective Absent In Body, who will release their debut album »Plague God« on March 25th, 2022. »Plague God« will be available as on LP/CD/CS/Digital via Relapse Records.

Watch a music video for the new single »The Acres/The Ache« below! Filmed and edited by Mathieu Vandekerckhove.

From Relapse Records:

Absent In Body make their Relapse Records debut with the terrifying new album »Plague God«. Featuring current and former members of Amenra, Neurosis and Sepultura, »Plague God« is bound by the same ideals of unity and fearlessly uncompromising honesty of expression that have driven their respective bands to imperious heights of reverence and groundbreaking sonic deliverance. »Plague God« is by turns devastating and sublime, drawn from musicians for whom life and art are inextricably bound.

Initially the brainchild of Amenra guitarist Mathieu J. Vandekerckhove, and Neurosis vocalist/guitarist Scott Kelly, Absent In Body formed in 2017. Immediately recognising their kinship, and with Amenra frontman Colin H. Van Eeckhout brought in on vocals and bass, what emerged is a reflection of the intervening years of turbulence, extending it’s scope as it navigates across five stretches of unstable terrain. From the opening Rise From Ruins with Sepultura drummer, Iggor Cavelera’s tribal beat emerging from foreboding, near-subsonic oscillations to explode in a tide of corrosive riffs and feral howls, through Sarin’s steadfast, procession-through-purgatory groove, to The Half Rising Man’s matrix of organic/mechanic evolution, it’s an album in constant dialogue between the animalistic, the human and the industrial, and a hunger to distill a truth, something unpolluted from the fray.

»Plague God« doesn’t just give voice to these moments of truth, but in the band’s deep kinship integral to every claustrophobic judder, every stretch of atmospheric dread and helpless alias assumed, lies a freedom we both forget and attain at our peril.

01. Rise From Ruins
02. In Spirit In Spite
03. Sarin
04. The Acres/The Ache
05. The Half Rising Man

Recorded and produced by Tim De Gieter, Much luv studio, BE
Mastered by Jack Shirley, Atomic Garden, USA

Pre-order »Plague God« Here:
Digital downloads/streaming:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.