Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

American experimental metal trio Locrian stream their new full-length album »New Catastrophism«, out tomorrow via Profound Lore Records

Chicago, Illinois based experimental/dark ambient/drone metal trio Locrian is streaming their new full-length album, titled »New Catastrophism«, which will be released tomorrow, August 12th, 2022 via Profound Lore Records.

01. Mortichnia
02. The Glare Is Everywhere And Nowhere Our Shadow
04. Incomplete Map Of Voids
03. Cenotaph To The Final Glacier

Recorded and mixed by J. Robbins.
Mastered by Brad Boatright.
Artwork by Trevor Paglen.
Design by Chimere Noire.

Courtesy of C Squared Music:

The upcoming Locrian album »New Catastrophism« is now streaming on the Profound Lore Youtube channel. The album will be released tomorrow August 12, 2022 on vinyl, CD and digital formats. Alongside »New Catastrophism«, Locrian will also be releasing the »Ghost Frontiers« EP that will come as a bonus disc with the CD edition, a bonus digital download with the LP, and released through all digital channels on August 12th. The »Ghost Frontiers« EP features the two tracks »Witness The Collapse Of Geologic Time« and »The Chasm Of The Future«.

The band comments: “»New Catastrophism« is the expression of years of observing disasters all around us and an opening to a new vision of a world changed beyond repair. We’re pleased to share this album with the world after such a long break and hope it serves as a soundtrack to the changes to come.”

Photo by Elena Volkova

»New Catastrophism« sees the iconic experimental music trio return back to their roots through four immersive tracks that signal towards the band’s signature expressions through dark ambient, experimental music, drone and post-rock. Massive dystopian soundscapes through the intricate, layered, and spacious sound palette Locrian unveil.

Locrian is a prophetic voice of decline. From the band’s inception, it has comfortably straddled both the experimental and metal underground, weaving themes of apocalypse, urban decay, environmental destruction and birth/death/rebirth throughout its multifaceted and genre-defying releases. The trio formed in 2005 in Chicago and features Terence Hannum (synthesizers, vocals, tape loops), André Foisy (guitars, electronics), and Steven Hess (drums, electronics). Over their sixteen-year history, Locrian have released six studio albums, three collaborative albums, and numerous limited-edition releases.

»New Catastrophism« and »Ghost Frontiers« were recorded and mixed by J. Robbins, mastered by Brad Boatright, and features artwork by Trevor Paglen with design by Chimere Noire.

Order »New Catastrophism« on 2xCD/LP/Digital here:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.