Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Asgaard unveil a snippet of the third track »Sny na jawie« from their upcoming full-length album »What If…«

Polish transgressive dark rock/metal trio Asgaard has unveiled a snippet of the third track »Sny na jawie« from their upcoming full-length album, »What If…«, out on March 4th, 2022 via Szataniec / WormHoleDeath.

The band comments: “We are proud to present you a snippet of »Sny na jawie«, the 3rd track from the upcoming album of Asgaard titled »What If…«. The song features lyrics by Krzysztof Kamil Baczyński (1921-1944) and is the first in the band’s career sung entirely in Polish.”

01. Sisyphus
02. Creeping Miss Lunacy
03. Sny na jawie
04. Horizon Upside Down
05. What If…
06. Blind Man’s Buff
07. W sercu nieświata
08. Not Ever Again!
09. Sny na jawie (radio cut) (bonus track)
10. W sercu nieświata (radio cut) (bonus track)

Cover artwork by Bartłomiej Trzos.
Band photo by Roman Baran.

Courtesy of Solid Rock PR:

After 10 years break, in the first quarter of 2022 Polish band Asgaard will release long awaited new studio album.

»What If…« is the brand new, seventh album in the band’s career and a follow-up to a critically acclaimed »Stairs To Nowhere«. This time around, Asgaard reinvents its formula and the album is the first ever of their releases to feature more rock-oriented sound, rather that straight-up metal one. »What If…« is the very first record in band’s discography with songs composed in more traditional way, full of beautiful melodies and grand, epic choruses. Band enters another novel territory – two out of eight songs on the album are sung in Polish, which language native to the members of the group. Additionally, Asgaard included stylistic features of the broad genre of electronic music in the intricately structured new songs. New album still retains characteristic sense of romance and nostalgia, present in the band’s outputs since the beginning. Such emotional load brings to mind bands like Katatonia, Amorphis, Moonspell, Opeth, Anathema. »What If…« is a triumphant return of Poland’s rock/metal avant-garde.

Album »What If…« will be released:
• February 18th, 2022 as digital with cooperation of WormHoleDeath / The Orchard Inc. / Sony Music Entertainment
• March 4th, 2022 on physical format with Polish label Szataniec

Photo by Roman Baran

Metamorphosis, constant evolution and stylistic unpredictability – amalgamation of these three phrases has become signature quality of Asgaard’s body of work. The band exists and has been present in the scene for 25 years. Due to bold and widely controversial records the band is often considered as one of the most visionary in Poland’s entire gothic/rock/metal genre.

Every week, on the following Tuesday, a fragment of the next songs will be published on WormHoleDeath YouTube channel.

Asgaard is:
Przemysław “Quazarre” Olbryt – Vocals
Bartłomiej “Hetzer” Kostrzewa – Guitars
Wojciech “Flumen” Kostrzewa – Synth, Samples, FX, additional drums programming
Alvern (Orchivion) – Drums (session)
Przemysław Nowak – Bass (session)

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.