Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Auralayer drops the fourth and final single »You Walk« taken from their upcoming debut album »Thousand Petals«

Greenville, South Carolina based psychedelic proggy doom trio Auralayer drops the fourth and final single »You Walk« taken from their upcoming debut album, »Thousand Petals«, set to release worldwide on July 14th, 2023 via King Volume Records and Kozmik Artifactz.

01. The Lake
02. All My Time
03. Christ Antler
04. Faith To Reason
05. Shelf Black
06. Peacemonger
07. You Walk
08. Dance To Thrash
09. Monstrum

Courtesy of US/THEM Group:

“Primed to become your next favorite band.” — Metal Sucks

“An absolute joy to listen to and perhaps one of the most inventive albums to be released this year.” — Outlaws Of The Sun

Auralayer, the visionary and captivating power trio out of Greenville, SC, shares the fourth and final single from their forthcoming raucous debut album, »Thousand Petals«, today via Metal Sucks. Hear and share »You Walk« HERE.

Delivering a unique blend of powerful doom riffs, kinetic progressive rock drums, and electrifying pop-inspired melodies, »Thousand Petals« is impressively heavy and undeniably catchy.

The band’s signature brand of metal comes from its members’ diverse musical interests. “I’m really into doom, especially bands like High On Fire,” says guitarist Thomas Powell. “Vladimir, the drummer, is really into progressive rock, and his favorite drummer is Neil Peart. And Jake, our bassist, really likes pop music – The Beatles and Talking Heads.” Thanks to those disparate influences, the band is largely unencumbered by typical doom and stoner rock clichés during the writing phase – a fact that has helped them develop their own original metal sound.

To help them harness their energetic musical vision, the band recruited Philip Cope, the founder of the experimental metal band Kylesa, to engineer, mix, and master their debut at Jam Room Recording Studio in Columbia, SC. As with Kylesa, Cope helped to capture and channel the band’s diverse influences and experimentation into a cohesive sonic palette – on both the debut album and the band’s 2021 »Solar Plexus« EP.

“Phil has had a huge influence on me as an artist,” says Powell, “so it was great having him around. He’s just as passionate about our music as we are, so it almost feels like he’s part of the band. And since he’s worked on so many cool projects, like the first Baroness album, he has so many cool perspectives and great attention to detail, and that really helped us capture the sound we were going for.”

Despite the band’s collective encyclopedic knowledge of music, the trio has also pulled inspiration from a variety of artistic and philosophical sources – while still maintaining a unified final product. The album title, for example, comes from the Sahasrara padma, the crown chakra that translates to “the lotus of a thousand petals” and is symbolic of supreme consciousness and enlightenment.

»Thousand Petals« comes after the success of the band’s original demo EP, »Solar Plexus« (also inspired by Eastern cultures and the Chakra Manipura), which was released on August 13, 2021. All three songs from that demo – »Christ Antler«, »Faith To Reason«, and »All My Time« – have been sharpened and honed onto »Thousand Petals«.

»Thousand Petals« will be available on LP, CD and download on July 14th, 2023 via King Volume Records. Pre-orders are available HERE.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.