Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Belgian post-metal revelation LETHVM shares cathartic »Night« video; new album »Winterreise« out April 7th on Dunk!records

Belgian post-metal revelation LETHVM shares cathartic music video for the second single »Night« taken from the band’s upcoming studio album, »Winterreise«, set to release on April 7th, 2023 via Dunk!records and Silenceless Records.

01. Blank
02. Pretence
03. Torrents
04. Carved
05. Mournful
06. Night

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Belgium-based post-hardcore and post-metal goldsmiths LETHVM unleash a mesmerizing video for their brand new single »Night« today! The song is taken from their forthcoming third studio album »Winterreise«, to be released this April 7th on Dunk!records and Silenceless Records.

About new single »Night«, LETHVM comments: “It took us a few years to finalize this song, which represents the history of the band. Lyrically, this track is the most personal and introspective. Through this song, we hope to share the same emotion and weight that we felt while writing it.”

Watch LETHVM’s brand new video »Night« here! Listen to the song on all streaming services!

Tones are dark, tempos slowed down and syncopated, themes bleak and heavy, however, there’s much more here than an uncompromising taste in destruction. From the first spin, LETHVM’s new album »Winterreise« reveals a surprisingly emotional vulnerability, focused on personal struggles and topics dear to the band, like melancholia, loneliness and anger, and an honesty that’s disarming and fully convincing.

It’s a focused and carefully crafted record, where even the finest detail delivers an emotional blow. It shows a band, now fully comfortable with their craft, working with a monochromatic sound palette but experimenting with a multitude of shades and hues, enriching their formula with precious details. These nuances make »Winterreise« a continuously engaging and refreshing listen; a true journey worth repeating endless times. This record is massive, it is heavy and unforgiving, but highly immersive and ultimately, addictive. Meant to be played loud, »Winterreise« is only the latest addition to dunk!’s heavy catalogue and Lethvm’s lethal discography, but certainly already a standout and highlight in both the label’s and band’s repertoires. Also listen to their previous single »Mournful« at this location!

»Winterreise« was recorded, mixed and mastered by Tim De Gieter (Amenra, Brutus, The K.) at Much Luv Studio in Lembeke, Belgium. New album »Winterreise« will be released on April 7th, 2023 on vinyl through Dunk!records and cassette tape through Silenceless Records.

Formed in 2015, LETHVM evolves in heavy and torn atmospheres, between devastation and candor. The Belgian foursome crafts a cathartic and tempestuous blend of post-hardcore, post-metal and post-black metal that overflows with emotion while slowly but steadily crushing the listener’s skull and bones. Drawing inspiration from the darkness of life, they inject a sheer dose of beauty, rage and melancholy into their sound, for an overall immersive and spine-shivering experience.

With their third album »Winterreise«, LETHVM explores even more intensely the three emotions they’ve been conveying through their music since their beginnings: anger, melancholia and loneliness. They articulate those feelings through a series of poems from the XIXth century written by Willhelm Müller and already set to music by Franz Schubert in 1827 in the »Winter Journey« song cycle. Müller’s poems have been a great source of inspiration during the songwriting, while the lyrics express a desire to travel mixed with a feeling of inertia. Every note and silence of the album inevitably carries the musicians and listeners into the roughness of winter.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.