Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Birmingham doom rockers Margarita Witch Cult premiere new music video »The Witchfinder Comes« off upcoming debut album on Heavy Psych Sounds!

Birmingham, UK based doom rockers Margarita Witch Cult premiere new music video »The Witchfinder Comes« from their self-titled debut album, set to release on April 21st, 2023 via Heavy Psych Sounds.

01. Diabolical Influence
02. Death Lurks At Every Turn
03. The Witchfinder Comes
04. Be My Witch
05. Annihilation
06. Theme From Cyclops
07. Lord Of The Flies
08. Aradia
09. Sacrifice

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

UK doom rockers Margarita Witch Cult present an intoxicatingly heavy second video taken from their awaited self-titled debut album, to be released on April 21st through Heavy Psych Sounds.

About new single »The Witchfinder Comes«, the band comments: “A macabre tale of an impending witch hunt climaxing with the subject running in fear over the spiraling coda. The slab of bludgeoning 70s style proto-metal is a stadium-sized version of the song which first appeared on the band’s demo cassette which brought the band to the public eye in 2022.”

💀 Watch new video »The Witchfinder Comes« on Doomed & Stoned 💀

Get ready for an absolute rager with the butt-kicking debut from Margarita Witch Cult! Born from the murky industrial depths of Birmingham, UK (also known as Sabbath City), the raucous trio achieves a tour-de-force by fusing the fist-pumping energy of NWOBHM and occult imagery and heaviness of proto-doom. Disclaimer: you might have the time of your life blasting this timeless and merciless beast, one that will chew you up and spit you out but keep you crawling back for more! A must-have for fans of groovy horror-laden heavy rock’n’roll in the vein of Black Sabbath, Uncle Acid, Orchid. ► Listen to their debut single »Death Lurks At Every Turn« and watch their latest »Diabolical Influence« video!

Debut album »Margarita Witch Cult« out April 21st on Heavy Psych Sounds:

About the album: A thunderous drum fill propels you into opener »Diabolical Influence« – a lurching behemoth of a tune that makes easy bedfellows of crushing stoner riffs, Latin incantations, and a simply humongous chorus. The pace quickens with the frantic »Death Lurks At Every Turn« – a hair-raising thrasher of breakneck snare rolls and unruly guitar solos. »The Witchfinder Comes« only furthers the sense of foreboding, as tales of torture and pleas for exile fall on the ever-deafening ears of the listener. »Be My Witch« comes in hot and heavy as a grungy ode to the forbidden, and the blistering »Annihilation« concludes side A with speed-freak ferocity.

The more adventurous and immersive side B is kick-started with »Theme From Cyclops« – the deft chops of all 3 members being undeniable as we gallop into the ambitious, face-melting journey that is »Lord Of The Flies« – a belting doom groover that culminates in a classic guitar & bass dual to rival even the most virtuosic of axe-wielders. As we near the end of our perilous sonic expedition, »Aradia« serves up an instrumental serving of pure downtuned filth, with sleazy swagger and tasteful shredding that give extra provenance to its author’s deep bag of tricks. The killer blow comes in the shape of the simply savage »Sacrifice« – an unholy exhibition of undeniable force. The duality of the track makes for an experience that leaves our sweet listener reeling- the bludgeoning weight of its monstrous main riff giving way to razor-sharp verses and a tripped-out, mind-bending psych jam- only to come crashing back to crushing reality as the final, fatal notes ring out.

Margarita Witch Cult is:
Scott Vincent – Vocals & Guitar
George Casual – Drums
Jim Thing – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.