Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Black Donut Records announce Melvins tribute album »A Future Of Bad Men: A Melvins Tribute« with Böndbreakr, Bovine Nightmares, Trigger Cut & more

Black Donut Records announce Melvins tribute album, »A Future Of Bad Men: A Melvins Tribute«, which will see the light on October 7th, 2022.

Pre-order here:

01. Grizzlor – Oven
02. Night Goat – Antioxidote
03. Doctor Monster – Night Goat
04. Olde – Hooch
05. Trigger Cut – Lizzy
06. Frack – Revolve
07. Bovine Nightmares – The Bit
08. Work Party – Skin Horse
09. Böndbreakr – Bride Of Crankenstein feat. Jeff Pinkus (ex-Melvins, Butthole Surfers)

Courtesy of C Squared Music:

Black Donut Records announce a tribute compilation album to The Melvins releasing on October 7th. Bringing together an array of underground acts from Olde and Böndbreakr to Bovine Nightmares and Trigger Cut, »A Future Of Bad Men: A Melvins Tribute« is a powerful offering.

Kicking off with Grizzlor’s raucous reimagining of »Oven«, the album gets off to a high-powered start. All of the bands bring ferocious energy in their own styles, adapting and entwining their unique elements to fuse with Melvins’ original compositions. Night Goat unleashes a dark sound through »Antioxidote« giving it hell with wild thrashing instrumentation, while Doctor Monster delivers swinging blues-rock elements in their fierce cover of »Night Goat«. Sheer fuzz-fuelled chaos manifests in Olde’s track »Hooch« with epic guitars giving a thunderous impact. Trigger Cut unveil a dynamic approach emphasising the ebbs and flows of »Lizzy«, before Frack delves into the hard-hitting »Revolve«. Bovine Nightmares’ »The Bit« introduces a progressive edge. Soaring elements contrast the distorted heaviness in a wealth of instrumental and vocal textures. Followed by Work Party’s compelling performance of »Skin Horse«, it’s a thrilling and perhaps somewhat unexpected track to feature in the album’s penultimate position. Böndbreakr, last but by no means least, conclude »A Future Of Bad Men: A Melvins Tribute« with a fiery onslaught of riffs, guitar licks and a moody atmosphere.

About Black Donut Records:

Black Donut Records, “a micro label for the odd, the heavy, the noisy” was launched in 2021 by Morey Straus to promote rising underground bands he had come across on social media and Bandcamp. The debut release on the label was »World Without End: A Tribute To Samhain«. Straus runs the label from his sofa on the weekends with shipping assistance from his two children. His day job pays the bills, so he is able to focus the label on passions, not margins. The fledgling label has since signed the Pennsylvania avant-metal act Bovine Nightmares for their 2023 debut album. In between those two releases, Black Donut is publishing another tribute compilation; this time a love letter to the godfathers of grunge, Melvins. Featuring an array of heavy bands spanning genres from noise rock to doom, each provides a unique take that will have Melvins’ fans falling in love with these classics all over again.

Format: This is a 250 copy, limited edition, vinyl-only release.

Vinyl mastering by Steve Glaze at Tonefreq, San Jose, CA.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.