Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Black Tar Superstar stream the first single »Three Witches« taken from their upcoming debut album »The Black Flame«

American doom/sludge metal band Black Tar Superstar stream the first single »Three Witches« taken from their upcoming debut album, »The Black Flame«, which will be released on May 28th, 2021 in digital format via Kingside Records / Artillery Music Group.

01. The Black Flame
02. Three Witches
03. Cosmic Devil Trip
04. One Eyed God
05. Damned Flesh
06. Black Hymn
07. The Summoning
08. Shadow Walkers
09. Bloodshot
10. Blut I’m Sand

Black Tar Superstar is a doom/stoner/sludge metal band from Akron, Ohio. The band was created by bassist/vocalist Chad Perkins who at the time, wrote and recorded all the songs over a 3 to 4-year period in his basement with a drum machine playing all the parts himself. In the Spring of 2020, he wanted to have a live full band collaborating on these very dark, doom filled tracks, creating a bone crunching sound to bring these songs to life. He then enlisted drummer Steve “Reaper” Komlody to give it a more aggressive, groovier style of drumming. He then added guitarist Jason McCraken, who brings a sludgy, southern vibe to the riffs. Lastly, adding guitarist Logan Komlody, who provides a very aggressive and percussive style to the riffs with perfectly placed pinch harmonics.

This Sabbath/Down/Danzig/Type O Negative like quartet coming together, have blended heavy and groove together to form a huge wall of sound. Other influences include: Neurosis, Acid Witch, High On Fire and countless others. Their songs discuss a variety of topics such as the occult, apocalyptic themes, loss of love and history. First they learned a variety of Chad’s own material and now they have just started to write together; someone introduces a new riff, they jam it out and everyone puts their spin on it. The first two songs they wrote together as a band were »Hail To The Succubus« and »Serial«.

Black Tar Superstar is:
Chad Perkins – Bass, Vocals
Steve “Reaper” Komlody – Drums
Jason McCraken – Guitar
Logan Komlody – Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.