Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Brazilian post-grunge/stoner rock four-piece Apnea releases a music video for »The Child« from their debut album »Sea Sound«, out now via Peculio Discos

Brazilian post-grunge/stoner rock four-piece Apnea releases a music video for the song »The Child« from their debut album, »Sea Sound«, out on September 9th, 2022 via Peculio Discos.

Directed, editing and camera by Gabriel Imakawa.

Order »Sea Sound« here:

Courtesy of Reverbera Music Media:

During the period of quarantine due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the rehearsals were productive and helped Apnea to improve its compositions and develop its style. After months of work, the band releases the long-awaited debut album. »Sea Sound« is now available on all digital platforms.

Today, they released the music video for the track »The Child«, with production and direction by bassist Gabriel Imakawa, who created an intimate and home video to express the energy that the song conveys. The video is now available on the band’s official YouTube channel and can be seen below.

With a proposal to present a sound influenced by the music of the 70s and 90s, mixing grunge, heavy metal and stoner rock, the band Apnea built its sound with influences that go through A.S.G., Fu Manchu, Alice In Chains, Soundgarden, Cave In, until Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. The album »Sea Sound« brings a unique mix of sounds, making Apnea achieve originality and personality within traditional elements of the aforementioned decades.

Formed by experienced musicians with projection and an extensive national and international career – members of the bands Ratos De Porão, Garage Fuzz and Bayside Kings – the quartet is considered a supergroup with local hero status in Brazil.

The recording was made again at Electric Sound Studios with production by André Freitas.Mastering was done by renowned producer Fernando Sanches at the traditional El Rocha studio, an absolute reference in mastering and production by the main names in Brazilian music. Cover art is by artist/tattoo artist Daniel Toledo, Brazilian tattoo icon and one of the main designers of the MCD brand.

The booklet features photos by photographer Jair Bortoleto, one of the great names in Brazilian photography, known for his work with landscape and surf photos, having his work published in the traditional magazines National Geographic, Surfer’s Journal, Ocean-ans and Drift, and with solo exhibitions in several Brazilian states, the USA (NY and CA) and Italy.

To complete the release of the album, the band recorded a video clip and produced lyric vide them aiming at a set of actions to promote the work, doing shows and tours wherever possible with a focus on building an international career like the previous works of their members, believing that it is essential to make the release of the album have distribution in different countries and continents to achieve their goals.

Listen »Sea Sound«:

Formed in 2019 in Santos, city of São Paulo – birthplace of great names in the national underground – Apnea arises when Mauricio Boka invites Marcus Vinicius to show the ideas he had in his head for a long time and test the construction of a style and a sound identity. After a few jams, guitarist Nando Zambeli is recruited, and the musical language begins to define itself more clearly. Bassist Gabriel Imakawa arrives to complete the quartet that began to rehearse frequently, composing and improving the band’s style.

In August 2020, Apnea entered the studio to record their first songs, which were released in 2021 on the EP »Salt Water«. The material was recorded in Santos at Electro Sound Studio, a studio commanded by Marcão Britto (ex-Charlie Brown Jr). The production, mixing and mastering is signed by André Freitas.

“Driving high energy is matched by an equally ecstatic music video. It’s the kind of song you could easily close out a few last summer drives with, preferably at a volume that turns heads at red lights.” – Metal Injection

01 Apnea Rock Radio
02 What Future Holds
03 Peacefully
04 Deepness
05 Highs And Lows
06 Giant Mountains
07 Outside
08 The Child
09 Bus Ride

Recording studio: Electro Sound Studio
Producer / sound engineer: André Freitas
Mixing studio and engineer: Fernando Sanches – Electro Sound Studio
Mastering studio and engineer: Fernando Sanches – Electro Sound Studio
Cover art: Daniel Toledo
Photo: Jair Bortoleto

Apnea is:
Mauricio Boka – Drums
Marcus Vinicius – Vocals and Guitar
Gabriel Imakawa – Bass
Nando Zambeli – Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.