Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Bulgarian bluesy proto-doom trio Obsidian Sea premiere their new full-length album »Pathos«, out today via Ripple Music

Bulgarian bluesy proto-doom trio Obsidian Sea premiere their fourth full-length album, »Pathos«, out this Friday, February 4th, 2022 via Ripple Music.

01. Lament The Death Of Wonder
02. The Long Drowning
03. Sisters
04. Mythos
05. The Revenants
06. I Love The Woods
07. The Meaning of Shadows

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Bulgarian blues and doom metal torchbearers Obsidian Sea premiere their fourth full-length »Pathos« in its entirety, out this Friday February 4th on Ripple Music.

“They hold to such a methodical feel and each procession is executed with such a purposeful feel that it’s that much easier to be moved along with it.” – The Obelisk

“They will take you on a journey through their mythical landscapes grounded in fantasy, to distract you from the grim world we live in.” – More Fuzz

“Seven songs dripping with strong melodies, atmospheric musings and wanderlust.” – The Razor’s Edge

“A jaunty slice of fairly upbeat prog rock.” – Angry Metal Guy

Stream Obsidian Sea’s new album »Pathos« in full via The Obelisk! Watch their latest video »I Love The Woods«.

New album »Pathos« is a work in which the trio injected truckloads of heaviness, a feeling of naive exuberance, aggression, dreamlike melancholy and introspection all at once. This is a record by a band that intends to express utmost honesty without any fear or apology, “a therapeutic process of emotional release through the music, but also one of establishing a truer human connection within the band” as described by the trio.

Obsidian Sea formed in 2009 in Sofia, Bulgaria. Their style is a dark and atmospheric take on proto-rock and heavy with a progressive touch and a strong highlight on melodies. The trio has released three albums: »Between Two Deserts« (2012), »Dreams, Illusions, Obsession« (2015) and their Ripple Music debut »Strangers« (2019).

About the new album »Pathos«, vocalist Anton Avramov explains: “The very word “pathos” has, through time, accumulated a rich and sometimes contradictory meaning ranging from pity to disdain, implying care or confrontation. In any sense, it was a fitting title for an album dealing with themes like mourning the lost sense of wonder, longing for a renewed connection with one’s existence that was once seen through myth, fable, rite, and could perhaps still be reached by hope, humility and sacrifice. What could be seen thus as simply a juvenile escapist fantasy could perhaps be thought of as a rather sober look upon the fragility of the romantic and the insistence that a world bereft of wonder is also deprived of honesty and therefore inspiration.”

Obsidian Sea new album »Pathos« out February 4th on Ripple Music!

Obsidian Sea is:
Anton Avramov – Guitars, Vocals
Delyan Karaivanov – Bass, Backing Vocals
Bozhidar Parvanov – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.