Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Canadian hypnotic heavy metal duo Spell share a music video for the new single »Fever Dream« taken from their fourth full-length album »Tragic Magic«

Vancouver, Canada based hypnotic heavy metal duo Spell share a music video for the new single »Fever Dream« taken from their fourth full-length album, »Tragic Magic«, scheduled for release on October 28th, 2022 via Bad Omen Records / Metal Blade Records.

01. Fatal Breath
02. Ultraviolet
03. Hades Embrace
04. Fever Dream
05. Sarcophagus
06. Cruel Optimism
07. A Ruined Garden
08. Souls In Chains
09. Watcher Of The Seas
10. The Watching

Courtesy of Metal Blade Records:

“Music is magic, and Spell is a spell. Fundamentally, it is a forum to make our dreams come true.” – Spell bassist/guitarist/vocalist Cam Mesmer

Fantastical heavy metal band Spell will release its new LP, »Tragic Magic«, on October 28 via Bad Omen Records. Featuring ten tracks of prime, progressive heavy music flooded with mesmerizing atmospheres, »Tragic Magic« sees Spell take a decidedly grittier lyrical approach, leaning less into escapism, while confronting real life challenges of modern times. Striking cover art (Frenzy of Exultations by Wladyslaw Podkowiński, 1863) featuring an angelic woman riding a frenetic horse, portends the palpable potency that the record promises. In its review of the new Spell song, »Ultraviolet«, Metal Injection says the band’s sound treads “the line between dreamy progressive rock in the vein of King Crimson and more straightforward old-school heavy metal like Blue Öyster Cult.” Pre-order »Tragic Magic« at:

In advance of the release of »Tragic Magic«, Spell streams a video for the new track, »Fever Dream«, (directed by Scotti Gibson, with cinematography by Kyle Samuels & make up effects by Caitlin Rose Delaplace and edited by Vince Edwards) an enticing earworm that fuses darkwave and progressive-psych in hypnotizing fashion while exploring the realms of “nightmares and sleep paralysis”.

Photo by David P Ball

»Fever Dream« comes directly from the most evil and frightening moments I’ve experienced in the depths of illness and sleep,” offers Spell vocalist/guitarist Cam Mesmer. “These things may not make sense in the light of day, but once they take hold you have no choice but to follow their twisted path. Deep within nightmares and sleep paralysis, I have conflicting desires: first the urge to shake myself and escape, but also a second, deeper instinct – to give in to the feeling and allow it to conquer me completely to see where it will take me. This song represents your darkest subconscious, urging you to allow that evil inside of yourself and give it the agency to take you somewhere new, somewhere unholy. Now go back to sleep…”

»Tragic Magic« is the highly-anticipated follow up to Spell‘s critically-acclaimed 2020 LP, »Opulent Decay«, a record hailed as “fantasy rock” by Blabbermouth, “enchanting” by Heavy Blog is Heavy, and “captivating” by Revolver. The record’s songcraft is steeped in the atmosphere of the arcane, yet the hooks are more razor-sharp than ever. While influences like the esoteric charge of the aforementioned Blue Öyster Cult and the elemental expansions of Camel drift through these crepuscular melodies, Spell are as likely to be influenced by the life-affirming energy of ’60s Motown, the ethereal dimensions of Cocteau Twins, the strident woe of Candlemass, and the classic songwriting chops of Russ Ballard.

“The themes on this album are more concrete, guided by personal experience,” offers Mesmer. “»Tragic Magic« has to do with mental illness, ageing, the death of a loved one, the decay of time… this is what ‘tragic magic’ means to us – loss and tragedy outside of our control, which fundamentally alters our perceived reality. This album is our response to the world as it currently is: music for an ascetic age. The identity of Spell came into sharp focus as it was always intended to be.”

Another taste of what »Tragic Magic« holds in store can be ingested now on the previously unveiled video for the LP’s radiating first single »Ultraviolet«. Created by Sean Edwards for Ramble Films (Freeways), the eye-catching clip showcases Spell at the height of its powers. Stream Spell’s »Ultraviolet« video below!

»Ultraviolet« explores the hidden terror of forces that rule us but cannot be perceived or understood,” says Spell vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Cam Mesmer. “Our world is shaped by powers that the limitations of our physical bodies prevent us from directly encountering. Will we fall victim to the lust for that which cannot be ours, or harness them to fulfil our wildest dreams?”

Spell is:
Cam Mesmer – Vocals, Guitars, Bass
Al Lester – Drums, Guitars

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.