Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Canadian proto-heavy merchants Dead Quiet share new single »No Gods, No Gold« off their upcoming album »IV«; out June 9th on Artoffact Records!

Vancouver, Canada based proto-heavy merchants Dead Quiet share the third single »No Gods, No Gold« off their new album, »IV«, scheduled for release on June 9th, 2023 via Artoffact Records.

01. The Hanging Man
02. No Gods, No Gold
03. Lamentations
04. Dying to Live Again
05. Existential Dread
06. Ascensions
07. High Roads
08. Murder City
09. Leave the Light On

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Vancouver-based proto-doom and heavy rock mercenaries Dead Quiet release their new single »No Gods, No Gold« on all streaming platforms today. This is the third excerpt from their upcoming album »IV«, to be released on June 9th through Artoffact Records.

The single follows two previously released singles, »High Roads« and »The Hanging Man«. Each took listeners on their respective journeys with a soundtrack full of bluesy keyboard riffs and raspy, catching vocals, leaving them itching for the next track to drop – a wait that ends today!

On »No Gods, No Gold«, vocalist Kevin Keegan comments on coming out of a feeling highly relatable to so many: “The pandemic took the wind out of a lot of band’s sails and this song is sort of a reflection of that; us sitting on some ideas, hoping we get to write and perform them again together some day. The song becomes a victorious anthem of powering through some dark times and seeing some light at the end of the tunnel.”

Listen to new single »No Gods, No Gold« on streaming platforms!

Photo by Milton Stille

On January 27th, Dead Quiet unveiled the first single from the upcoming album, »The Hanging Man«. The track reflects on feeling like a scapegoat and punching bag for other people’s struggles, when one is not able to take responsibility for their own actions.

»IV« will follow September 2020’s »Truth And Ruin«, which was a favourite of Exclaim! Magazine, Beatroute, V13, and more – reaching #1 on the National Canadian Campus Radio (Loud) and also being featured on CBC Rock Canada. On the new album, Keegan says “This, our 4th album, feels like the most fully explored of any of them. We really arranged everything as a group and it has the most character because of that. It’s definitely an adventure.” Listen to previous singles »High Roads« and »The Hanging Man«!

Dead Quiet – New album »IV« out June 9th on Artoffact Records – Pre-order:

Forming in 2014, Dead Quiet established themselves quickly with the release of their debut self-titled record in 2015. By the time writing commenced for their follow-up record, Grand Rites in 2017, Dead Quiet had found their perfect lineup in Kevin Keegan (Barn Burner), Brock MacInnes (Anciients), Mike Grossnickle (Hashteroid) and Jason Dana. The release of Grand Rites on Toronto’s Artoffact Records was followed by two European tours, one of which being direct support for John Garcia (Kyuss), as well as numerous festival appearances including Desertfest Belgium and Into the Void (NL), further cementing the band as one to watch out for.

After a rigorous year of touring, the band had no intention of slowing down and swiftly entered the studio to record their third record: »Truth And Ruin«. Again teaming up with Artoffact, »Truth And Ruin« saw the addition of Mike Rosen to the band and further broadened the already keyboard-laden sound they’d established on previous efforts. Released in 2020 on Artoffact Records, »Truth And Ruin« proved that work ethic and chemistry can truly refine a band’s sound to what they had always been striving for: heavy instrumentation combined with rich melody and uniquely personal lyricism, making Dead Quiet one of the hottest, must-see bands on the Canadian landscape.

Dead Quiet is:
Kevin Keegan – Guitar & Vocals
Brock MacInnes – Guitar
Michael Grossnickle – Bass
Michael Rosen – Keyboards, Vocals
Jason Dana – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.