Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Canadian proto-heavy rockers Dead Quiet release new album »IV« on Artoffact Records today!

Vancouver, Canada based proto-heavy rockers Dead Quiet have just released their fourth album »IV« this Friday, June 9th, 2023 via Artoffact Records.

01. The Hanging Man
02. No Gods, No Gold
03. Lamentations
04. Dying To Live Again
05. Existential Dread
06. Ascensions
07. High Roads
08. Murder City
09. Leave The Light On

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Vancouver-based hard rock and proto-metal merchants Dead Quiet release their melodic and soulful fourth studio album »IV« on Artoffact Records today.

“Nine twisting odes of spiritual and earthly excess and ecstasy.” –

“Dead Quiet have perfected their own unique form of organ grinding, soulfully delivered heavy psychedelic/stoner rock with a retro hard rock swing to their rhythms.” – Grizzly Butts

“The urgency and danger to this record makes it a visceral experience that everyone should be a part of.” – Musipedia of Metal

Dead Quiet is back with more, and now, it’s the highly anticipated full album! Every single from this album has had its own reason to get fans pumped up for the full-length to drop. Most recently, “Dying To Live Again,” which was indisputably the perfect final single to preface the full release. Every element of the song screams “give me more” and leaves listeners not simply wanting, but needing more. Today, to serve up just that with the moment fans have been waiting for, Dead Quiet delivers »IV« in full!

Photo by Milton Stille

On the album, Keegan says “This, our 4th album, feels like the most fully explored of any of them. We really arranged everything as a group and it has the most character because of that. It’s definitely an adventure.”

Stream and purchase Dead Quiet’s new album »IV« at this location!

»IV« follows September 2020’s »Truth And Ruin«, which was a favourite of Exclaim! Magazine, Beatroute, V13, and more – reaching #1 on the National Canadian Campus Radio (Loud) and also being featured on CBC Rock Canada.

Not wasting any time disguising itself as anything other than a heavy-hitting classic rock ‘n’ roll track, »High Roads« leaves listeners feeling introspective with lyrics like “No time like the present/No time for defeat”, and is jam-packed with grungy guitars and ripping keyboard riffs. »The Hanging Man« follows suit, reflecting on feeling like a scapegoat and punching bag for other people’s struggles, when one is not able to take responsibility for their own actions. »No Gods, No Gold«, digs deep into the sense of longing felt during the pandemic, touching on how it took the wind out of many bands’ sails, but eventually becoming a victorious anthem of resilience where the light is seen at the end of the tunnel. »Leave The Light On«, a special song about loss and a tribute to good friends of the band, Kevin Keegan comments is “by far the saddest song we ever wrote,” and sees beautiful collaborations with Becky Black (Pack AD) and Marin Patenaude on vocals, and Matt Kelly (City and Colour) on slide guitar.

Dead Quiet »IV« available now on Artoffact Records:

Forming in 2014, Dead Quiet established themselves quickly with the release of their debut self-titled record in 2015. By the time writing commenced for their follow-up record, »Grand Rites« in 2017, Dead Quiet had found their perfect lineup in Kevin Keegan (Barn Burner), Brock MacInnes (Anciients), Mike Grossnickle (Hashteroid) and Jason Dana. The release of »Grand Rites« on Toronto’s Artoffact Records was followed by two European tours, one of which being direct support for John Garcia (Kyuss), as well as numerous festival appearances including Desertfest Belgium and Into the Void (NL), further cementing the band as one to watch out for.

After a rigorous year of touring, the band had no intention of slowing down and swiftly entered the studio to record their third record: »Truth And Ruin«. Again teaming up with Artoffact, »Truth And Ruin« saw the addition of Mike Rosen to the band and further broadened the already keyboard-laden sound they’d established on previous efforts. Released in 2020 on Artoffact Records, »Truth And Ruin« proved that work ethic and chemistry can truly refine a band’s sound to what they had always been striving for: heavy instrumentation combined with rich melody and uniquely personal lyricism, making Dead Quiet one of the hottest, must-see bands on the Canadian landscape.

Dead Quiet is:
Kevin Keegan – Guitar & Vocals
Brock MacInnes – Guitar
Michael Grossnickle – Bass
Michael Rosen – Keyboards, Vocals
Jason Dana – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.