Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Cirith Ungol releases a reproduction of the original 1978 cassette tape »The Orange Album«

Ventura, California based epic heavy/doom metal veterans Cirith Ungol have released a reproduction of the original 1978 cassette tape »The Orange Album«, which was remastered in 2020 by Bart Gabriel. An exclusive t-shirt and cassette bundle was available only on December 4, 2020 at the Iron Grip Bandcamp page, and single cassettes available exclusively at The Heavy Metal Store.

01. Show You All
02. High Speed Love
03. Neck Romancer (instrumental)
04. Use Me
05. Bite Of The Worm
06. Witchdance (instrumental)
07. King Tut Uncommon
08. Atom Smasher (instrumental)
09. We Know You’re Out There
10. Witsucker (instrumental)
11. Route 666

Cirith Ungol’s »The Orange Album«. This is a faithful reproduction of the original 1978 cassette tape, whose name derives from the distinctive bright orange j-card. »The Orange Album« was the earliest recording ever circulated by the band, who passed out home-dubbed copies to drum up record company interest and line up live show bookings. This is a piece of heavy metal history, shedding light on the origins of Cirith Ungol’s sound in its embryonic, evolutionary stage and featuring four lead vocalists. After being unavailable in any format for more than four decades, »The Orange Album« now sees the light of day once again. Freshly remastered by Bart Gabriel but otherwise entirely true to the original release, this reissue is limited to 666 numbered cassette copies.


Robert Garven – Drums and Percussion, Background Vocals, Lead Vocals on »Show You All«

Jerry Fogle – Rhythm Guitars, Lead Guitar on »Show You All«, »Neck Romancer«, »Bite Of The Worm«, »King Tut Uncommon«, »Atom Smasher«, »We Know You’re Out There«, »Route 666«

Greg Lindstrom – Bass, Rhythm Guitars, Background Vocals, Lead Guitar on »High Speed Love«, »Bite Of The Worm«, »Use Me«, »Witchdance«, »We Know You’re Out There«, »Witsucker«, »Route 666«, Lead Vocals on »Bite Of The Worm«, »Route 666«

Special Guests:

Tim Baker – Background Vocals, Lead Vocals on »High Speed Love«

Neal Beattie – Lead Vocals on »We Know You’re Out There«

All songs arranged by Cirith Ungol.
All songs recorded July-August 1978 at Liquid Flames Studios A+B Ventura, California.
Engineered and mixed by Robert Garven, Greg Lindstrom and Tim Baker.
Remastered by Bart Gabriel.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.