Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Cirith Ungol to release the brand new EP »Half Past Human«, including newly recorded versions of 1970’s rarities

US epic doom/heavy metal legends Cirith Ungol unveil »Brutish Manchild« from their new EP, »Half Past Human«, out on May 28th, 2021 via Metal Blade Records. The EP includes newly recorded versions of 1970’s rarities.

The band comments: “»Half Past Human« is Cirith Ungol’s third offering of newly recorded material since our reunion in 2016. There has been a lot of interest in the band’s early history and material. We decided to dust off a few old Cirith Ungol classics and breathe new life and new energy into them!
All four songs have a common theme, a sinister beastly imagery which flows all the way through to the cover art. Sit down, strap in, and crank it up!!!”

01. Route 666
02. Shelob’s Lair
03. Brutish Manchild
04. Half Past Human

From Metal Blade Records:

The globe was ravaged by pandemic in the wake of the release of Cirith Ungol’s triumphant reunion album, »Forever Black«, in April 2020. As time stood still, the band dug deep into their archival crypts, drawing back the veiled mists of history to expose long-forgotten jewels from their storied past. In so doing, the band exhumed four songs written in a bygone era but never properly included as part of their fabled discography. Cirith Ungol swept the dust off these precious relics, summoning long-dead forces back to life. Each song was reimagined for today, injected with a fresh dose of power and vitality while preserving their trademark mysticism and remaining drenched in sinister, apocalyptic energy. Recorded under the watchful eye of producer Armand John Anthony (Night Demon, Bewitcher, Gygax) in the darkness of 2020, »Half Past Human« promises to be a treasured addition to the music collections of Cirith Ungol’s loyal legions. In keeping with tradition, the package is completed by stunning cover art courtesy of acclaimed fantasy artist Michael Whelan, from the original Elric series.

Cirith Ungol is:
Tim Baker – Vocals
Greg Lindstrom – Guitar
Robert Garven – Drums
Jim Barraza – Guitar
Jarvis Leatherby – Bass

Brand new Cirith Ungol EP available for pre-order! Among vinyl, CD, and cassette, they are also offering an exclusive ultimate bundle. Limited to 300 copies worldwide, and only available on band run web store! You can grab one while they last at

Ultimate Bundle includes:
• 12″ Yellow marble vinyl LP (exclusive to bundle)
• Cassette (yellow shell, exclusive to bundle)
• CD digipak
• Brutish Manchild vinyl Flexi 7″ as featured in Decibel Magazine
• (3) Art prints from Rob Garven’s original drawings from the 70’s (exclusive to bundle)
• Half Past Human T-shirt (avail. in sizes S – 3XL)

Also available in their web shop:
• Digipak CD and T-Shirt Bundle (avail. in sizes S – 3XL)
• 12″ black vinyl LP (limited to only 30 copies in our shop)
• Cassette (red shell) – limited to only 100 copies worldwide
• Digipak CD (stand alone)

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.