Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Costa Rican horror sludge/death/doom outfit VoidOath to release debut album »Ascension Beyond Kokytus« via Cognitive Discordance Records and Cursed Monk Records

Costa Rican abysmal horror sludge/death/doom outfit VoidOath announces their debut full-length album, »Ascension Beyond Kokytus«, which will be released on September 30th, 2022 via Cognitive Discordance Records and Cursed Monk Records.

Listen to the first single »Orion-Cygnus Descent« below!

01. Orion-Cygnus Descent
02. Festered Sepsis Lacerations
03. A Flare In Emptiness
04. Alabaster Ruminations
05. From Gods To Morsels

Courtesy of Qabar PR:

Cognitive Discordance Records, in conspiracy with Cursed Monk Records, is proud to announce the debut full-length of Costa Rica’s abysmal sludge conjurers VoidOath. Titled »Ascension Beyond Kokytus«, the horror-themed conceptual album will be out on 30 September 2022. For the American release, Cognitive Discordance Records (Costa Rica) is issuing a limited run of Jewel Case CDs; for the UK/European release, Cursed Monk Records (Ireland) is releasing a limited edition of digipak CDs.

The dark, heavy and melt-inducing sound of VoidOath is the outcome of their approach to illustrate diverse horror works in a disturbing, frantic and distorted way. Their first EP, »Illumination Through Necromancy«, released in May 2020, was well received and featured by Decibel Magazine, No Clean Singing, Metal Storm, and Astral Noize, in addition to finding a place amongst the CVLT Nation’s Top 10 Sludge Albums Of 2020. CVLT Nation would later curate VoidOath’s two live performances – the first one w/ Astriferous and Bloodsoaked Necrovoid and the second one w/ Occultum and Lair during Cvlt Nation’s X anniversary.

The San José doom monstrosity VoidOath is now poised to reveal »Ascension Beyond Kokytus«, their first full-length release, deep within the cold, frost and blood in the farthest and isolated regions on the planet. »Ascension Beyond Kokytus« is based on John W. Campbell Jr’s Who Goes There? (Frozen Hell) and its adaptation of John Carpenter’s film The Thing (1982). Dwelling on deep feelings of fear, despair, loneliness and horror, the album drowns its listener in seamlessly endless waves of crushing violence and noise.


Christopher De Haan – Guitars, Vocals
Gabriel Ortiz – Drums
Jose Rodríguez – Guitars, Synths
Allan Salas – Bass

Produced, mixed and mastered by A Cabin in the Woods Recordings (Crypt Monarch, Engraved).
Artwork by Nataly Nikitina.
Layout by Cerrabuz.


North America: (Jewel Case CD w/ Exclusive O-Card, Poster, Stickers and Download Card)

UK/Europe: (digipak CD)



FFO: Serpentine Path, Spectral Voice, Jupiterian and Winter

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.