Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Cruz Del Sur Music to release vinyl edition of Hammers Of Misfortune’s new full-length album »Overtaker«

Hammers Of Misfortune featuring former Sabbath Assembly vocalist Jamie Myers will release their new full-length album »Overtaker« on December 2nd, 2022 independently on CD and digitally while vinyl edition is coming on January 20th, 2023 via Cruz Del Sur Music.

01. Overtaker
02. Dark Brennius
03. Vipers Cross
04. Don’t Follow The Lights
05. Ghost Hearts
06. Outside Our Minds
07. The Raven’s Bell
08. Orbweaver
09. Overthrower
10. Aggressive Perfection

Courtesy of Sure Shot Worx:

Cruz Del Sur Music, the label responsible for releasing Hammers Of Misfortune’s brilliant 2003 opus, »The August Engine«, is proud to announce a January 20, 2023 vinyl release of the band’s new »Overtaker« studio album.

The band’s first album in six years, founding member, guitarist and songwriter John Cobbett cites a change in direction in style he notes as “psychedlic thrash.”

The album features a revamped Hammers lineup that includes the return of Jamie Myers (vocalist and bassist in »The Locust Years« lineup) and the former rhythm section of Vektor, Blake Anderson and Frank Chin. Cobbett started work on »Overtaker« as early as 2018. Initially, »Overtaker« wasn’t supposed to be a Hammers album but a thrash side-project and was influenced by Cobbett and partner Sigrid Sheie’s work on Vhöl’s »Deeper Than Sky« (2015).

“When my family moved to Montana in 2016, my inclination was to continue expanding on this sound,” Cobbett said. “Initially, there was no intention of putting it out as Hammers or Vhöl. Everyone was so busy, and we were suddenly far away from our usual co-conspirators. But that changed as the album developed and old friends returned to the fold. »Overtaker« is fast, furious, psychedelic and progressive. But it’s different from other progressive metal in true Hammers fashion.”

Like all the Hammers material that preceded it, »Overtaker« defies genres and labels. The sound is a combination of ’70s prog and furious ’80s thrash. The result is something that’s never been done before – a mix of King Crimson’s »In The Court Of The Crimson King« and Slayer’s »Reign In Blood«. »Overtaker« was put together during the height of the Covid-19 pandemic and survived Anderson’s serious wrist injury in a scooter accident, which led to a year-plus recovery.

»Overtaker« was recorded both in home studios and Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio studios in Chicago with Sanford Parker engineering. Drums, piano and timpani were tracked during a four-day session at Electrical Audio in 2021; the remaining material was recorded via home studios, including vocals and Sigrid Sheie’s mighty Hammond B3 organ.

Originally scheduled as an independent release on CD format this December, Corbett is excited to be working with his old friends at Cruz Del Sur Music on the »Overtaker« vinyl edition.

“We are happy to announce that »Overtaker« will be getting a vinyl release on Cruz Del Sur Music!” he enthuses. “The record and the cover art were designed specifically to be released in this format, so this is fantastic news! Cruz Del Sur Music did an amazing job with the vinyl pressing of »The Bastard« back in 2021, so this promises to be a beautiful release. Thanks to everyone for their support!”

Pre-order »Overtaker« here: or

Hammers Of Misfortune are:
Jamie Myers: Vocals
John Cobbett: Guitars, Bass, Mellotron, Solina
Blake Anderson: Drums, Piano, Timpani
Sigrid Sheie: Hammond B3, Backing Vocals

Guest Musicians:
Mike Scalzi – Vocals on »Dark Brennius« and »Overthrower«.
Frank Chin – Bass on »Dark Brennius« and »Outside Our Minds«.
Tom Draper – Guitar solos on »Overthrower«.
Steve Blanco – Synth solos on »Vipers Cross«.
Brooks Wilson – Backing vocals on »Aggressive Perfection«.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.