Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Danish psych rockers De Forbandede release new double album »Menneske«, out today via SomeStudio

Danish heavy psych rockers De Forbandede are streaming their new double album, »Menneske«, which was released this Friday, May 12th, 2023 via SomeStudio.

01. Horisontens Tomhed
02. Stemmer I Disen
03. Brænd Mig Nu
04. Omvendt Tyngdekraft
05. Odyssé
06. Vinger
07. Dolker Dig I Ryggen
08. Stjernetåger
09. Sort Inferno
10. Eva
11. Djevel
12. Ugudelig Og Vidunderlig
13. Husk Du Skal Dø
14. Harmageddons Vej
15. Næb
16. De Grådiges Kor
17. Sølvhorn
18. Jorden Ved Hvem Jeg Er
19. Menneske

Courtesy of Audible PR:

After seven advance singles and a music video, Danish heavy psych rock band De Forbandede releases its third record, the double album »Menneske« (Danish for ‘Human’) today, and tonight the band will play a release show in their hometown of Odense, Denmark.

In connection with the album release, organ player and lyricist Michael Buur states: “We are at the end of this arduous, yet also fantastic journey that led us to »Menneske« – a comprehensive collection of human trials and existential challenges. Now it’s your turn! Take your time, one handful at a time, that’s how the mammoth is to be eaten. Bon appétit!”

The strictly limited vinyl version of »Menneske« can now be ordered via the band’s Bandcamp HERE.

Photo by Line Svindt

De Forbandede (‘The Accursed’ in Danish) was formed in 2015 drawing inspiration from heavy psychedelic rock legends Jimi Hendrix and Black Sabbath and newer stoner/garage bands such as Monster Magnet and Baby Woodrose, as well as H.P. Lovecraft, science fiction, 60’s horror and Danish 80’s poets.

A subsequently high activity level from De Forbandede resulted in first a 7” vinyl single and an EP, then two full-length albums »De Forbandede« (2017) and »Den Evige Nat« (2017), and then followed more singles, EP’s and a long string of shows in Denmark and abroad, among those SPOT Festival, Gutter Island and packed Scandinavian venues. Along the way, the band became a tight unit making its mark as a intense live act and as one of the most essential newer Danish psych rock ensembles.

With the new double album »Menneske«, De Forbandede has created a massive body of work which through nineteen songs utilizes the many facets of classic rock music with everything from short, catchy rock tunes to longer epic and dynamic tracks fully unfolding the band’s format and love for fuzz, guitar solos and hammond organ. In the band’s own words, the songs examines “all those fallible humans, in good and bad, in past and future” with a special focus on the grim religious traditions of old times, the now’s existential dilemmas, the transcendental universal being and the destructive tendencies of mankind.

»Menneske« is released on double vinyl and digital formats on May 12th 2023 via SomeStudio. The album is produced by Michael Hansen Buur, mixed by Jens Prip Brandt, mastered by Jacob Hansen and has artwork by NMAAR.

De Forbandede is:
Peter Østergaard Christensen – Vocals & Guitar
Michael Hansen Buur – Organ, Synth & Backing Vocals
Nicolei Martin Aagaard Rasmussen – Bass & Backing Vocals
Ricky Christensen – Percussion & Backing Vocals

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.