Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Dark ambient act Kariti sign with Lay Bare Recordings to release sophomore album »Dheghom«; first single and music video »A Mare Called Night« streaming!

Italy-based dark ambient act Kariti has signed with Lay Bare Recordings to release her sophomore album »Dheghom« on February 2nd, 2024.

Watch a music video for »A Mare Called Night«, haunting, first single taken from the upcoming full-length!

01. As Within
02. A Mare Called Night
03. Son
04. Vilomah (feat. Dorthia Cottrell)
05. Reckoning
06. Metastasis
07. Sanctuary
08. River Of Red
09. Emerald Death
10. Toll
11. So Without

Courtesy of All Noir PR:

Lay Bare Recordings are proud to have signed dark ambient act, kariti, for the release of her upcoming, new studio album titled »Dheghom«! kariti’s second full-length offering will be available as vinyl on February 2, 2024; the album pre-sale has just started at: A lyric video for the first single, »A Mare Called Night«, is now premiering below!

“Hearing the voice of ekaterina from kariti made an instant connection with my heart and my skin. It was hard not to engage with her captivating blend of powerful vocals, engaging melodies, and evocative poems. kariti’s mix of intimate, stripped-down mourning folk songs with crisp sounding instruments and eerie harmonies creates a unique and emotional experience.” Lay Bare Recordings owner, Désirée Hanssen, comments. “The impact of kariti’s voice is evident, draws you as a listener into it and makes it easy to connect with the depth of her music and words. kariti’s resonant vocal tone adds a distinctive and profound quality to her music. It’s fascinating how a singer’s voice can shape the emotional experience of a song. Lay Bare Recordings is beyond thrilled to welcome kariti to the label and to collaborate on releasing her upcoming album. Incredibly exciting to walk the path of this rich and diverse musical experience together.”

Photo by Ferdinando Bassi

kariti states: “»Dheghom« is an attempt to write about some things I can’t necessarily understand or even feel, but have a lot of feelings about, it is as eclectic musically as it is focalized in terms of lyrical themes and the meanings they bare. I had to be patient and wait for a very long time to let it out, my appreciation to Désirée goes beyond words. A few different labels could have become the home of »Dheghom«, but when Désirée of Lay Bare recordings got back to me, I instantly knew that was it. The way she spoke about it made me feel that she understood exactly what this record meant (to me) and that she would be as keen to work on it as a label can be. I am extremely happy and proud to collaborate with such a forward-thinking label driven by this powerhouse of a woman, who puts all her passion, enthusiasm and energy into helping underground artists to get their music heard and I cannot wait to see where this path takes us.”

Dive deeper into kariti’s captivating, dark sound and listen to the first single, »A Mare Called Night«, now streaming HERE!

kariti (карити) – ‘to mourn the dead’ in church Slavonic – is a Russian-born artist based in Italy. Her debut »Covered Mirrors« was released in September 2020 by Italian cult label Aural Music (Negură Bunget, Imperial Triumphant, Messa). Marco of sludge outfit Grime contributes to some of kariti’s songs with his guitars and often joins her for live performances. kariti’s dark ambient music is recommended to those who enjoy dark explorations accompanied by the smell of burning wood and the moonlight reflecting off snow delivered through profound lyrical content. kariti toured Europe several times and shared the stage with Messa, Grift, Conny Ochs, among others and recently was invited to open the Italian leg of the tour of Brutus. Her intense live shows have been described as liturgy-like and cathartic.

Photo by Laura Sans Gassó

Her sophomore album, »Dheghom«, sees a notable development in terms of kariti’s sound, songwriting and the use of instrumentation. It features various synthesizers, analogue piano, strings by Jon K (live Cough, Dorthia Cottrell), a song with drums and bass, multiple contributions by Grime’s Marco on guitars/noise, and a haunting duet with Dorthia Cottrell of Windhand.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.