Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Dee Calhoun unveil new music video for »Pulse«; new solo album »Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia« out now via Argonauta Records!

Dee Calhoun (Spiral Grave, ex-Iron Man) has unveiled a music video for the track »Pulse« from his new solo album, »Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia«, released on June 23rd, 2023 via Argonauta Records. Listen to the album on all major streaming platforms!

“Closing minds that open wounds in the name of a counterfeit god…” A song for those who are persecuted and even murdered simply because of who they love. We will NOT let hate win.” — Dee Calhoun

01. The Day The Rats Came To Town
02. Verachte Diese Hure
03. A Wish In The Darkness
04. New Modern World
05. Conjured
06. Pulse
07. Self-inflicted
08. Stand With Me
09. All I Need Is One
10. Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia

Courtesy of Grand Sounds PR:

Out on June 23rd, the album is coincided with the release of Dee’s fifth book, »Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia (Four Devilish Novelettes)«. CD1 of the two-disc set will feature ten songs, while CD2 will feature the audiobook of the title novelette, read by the author.

Written during Covid lockdowns, the songs on »Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia« include a number of non-traditional stringed instruments such as cigar box guitars, shovel guitars, and diddley bows. Again joining Dee are bassist Louis Strachan and percussionist Rob Calhoun (who sings lead vocals on two tracks).

Dee Calhoun on »Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia«: “»Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia« is a story of the dark one riding the rails to collect souls from the small corners of the world. It illustrates how the line between what’s good and what’s evil can be blurred once corruption has taken hold. The instrumentation of the song features a lot of elements to really give the song a dark, backwoods kind of feel; shovel guitar, cigar box guitars, and even a banjo make an appearance.”

»Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia« was released by Argonauta Records on CD and digital, and »Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia (Four Devilish Novelettes)« are available from Kindle Direct Publishing, each on June 23rd.

Dee Calhoun – voice, guitars & other various stringed instruments, harmonica, keyboards
“Iron” Louis Strachan – bass guitar
Rob “Little ‘Houn” Calhoun – lead vocals (tracks 4 & 8), backing vocals, percussion
Queen Nadia, Heiress of Dyscord – backing vocals (track 8)
Katharina Neuert – non-intro spoken word (track 2)
Dave Benzotti – backing vocals (track 9)
Old Nancy – intro (track 2)
Kitty Perkins – intro and closing read on »Old Scratch Comes To Appalachia (A Devilish Novelette)«

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.