Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Devil Electric unveil the brand new single »Your Guess Is As Good As Mine« taken from their upcoming album »Godless«

Australian doom rock band Devil Electric unveil the brand new single »Your Guess Is As Good As Mine« taken from their upcoming full-length album, »Godless«, set to release on November 12th, 2021 via Kozmik Artifactz.

The band comments: “Our brand new single »Your Guess Is As Good As Mine« is out now on all streaming platforms!
The album »Godless« releases in 2 weeks! 😈⚡️🤘”

From Kozmik Artifactz:

»Godless« is a collimation of ideas and experiences, bedded in what can only be described as “the next evolution” of Devil Electric’s sound.

While keeping true to the band’s DNA – you’ll still find the heavy grooves of 70’s inspired hard rock – »Godless« takes it one step further by peeling back to a more LoFi sound, a credit to producer Julian Schweitzer who worked with the band on »Godless«.

There is also a level of stylistic experimentation on the album, peppered through the familiar Devil Electric tones, that emerged in the freedom of the studio. You will be hit with these moments, unchained and lyrical, in songs like »Your Guess Is As Good As Mine« and »I Will Be Forgotten«. In others, like »Take The Edge Off«, there is the familiarity of Devil Electric’s debut album but progressed and twisted to new tonal shapes and raw melodic edges.

Photo by Kirty Phillips

Lyrically, »Godless« took inspiration from Pierina’s bookshelf with songs »All My Friends Move Like The Night«, »Mindset« and »The Cave« paying homage to Plato, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Joe Hill and Paul Tremblay.

She keeps pace with the band but never misses the chance to bring the signature big sweeping melodic vocals she has become known for.

»Godless« is not over-thought and at times it’s raw as hell – but that’s the point.

01. I Am
02. All My Friends Move Like The Night
03. Mindset
04. Your Guess Is As Good As Mine
05. Take The Edge Off
06. Godless
07. I Will Be Forgotten
08. The Cave

Produced by Devil Electric.
Recorded and engineered by Julian Schweitzer.
Recorded at The Aviary Studios in Melbourne, Australia.
Mixed by Julian Schweitzer at Labracadabra Studios in Melbourne, Australia.
Mastered by Joe Carra at Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia.
Design by Hound Machine.

Devil Electric is:
Pierina O’Brien – Vocals
Christos Athanasias – Guitars
Tom Hulse – Bass, Vocals
Mark Van De Beek – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.