Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

DHU Records to release debut album »MCMLXXXVIII« by Tony Reed’s goth rock project Constance Tomb on December 18th

Last release for 2020 on DHU Records is dark and complex debut album »MCMLXXXVIII« by Tony Reed’s goth rock project Constance Tomb, written in 1988 and re-recorded this year. »MCMLXXXVIII« will be released on December 18th and is available on different vinyl editions.

Tony Reed still is or used to be member of Mos Generator, Big Scenic Nowhere, Hot Spring Water, Twelve Thirty Dreamtime, Treepeople, Stone Axe and many other groups and projects over the last 35 years. He is a multi-instrumentalist and studio engineer. This is the Hub for his solo and project works outside of his main bands.

Tony Reed on Constance Tomb: “I wrote and recorded somewhere around thirty songs in 1988 (my 19th year). A large percentage of them were heavily influenced by the gothic movement of the early 80s. Bands like Bauhaus, Christian Death, Tones On Tail, Mighty Sphincter, Death Cult & Samhain were obvious inspirations during this time in my life.

In 1988 I was making music with a band called Twelve Thirty Dreamtime and in that year alone I worked with three different rhythm sections. All of the songs I wrote that year were captured on tape but the recordings were done on the most primitive equipment in the bedrooms and basements of people that would let us make noise in their space. At that point I was doing 2 track tape to tape overdubbing and after a few passes the tape hiss would be almost unbearable.

When I listen back to the old recordings sometimes I think those limitations are cool and add to the eerie quality of the music but over the last 32 years I’ve also wanted to hear what the songs would have sounded like done in a proper recording studio. I did my best to NOT overplay or add too many additional ideas beyond the original versions. When I would start to add extra layers to some of the tracks I almost always scrapped the idea soon after.

This collection is what I consider to be the ten best songs of that era recorded the way I heard it in my head all those years ago.”


Side A:
A1. Spiritual Stairway
A2. Amokt
A3. The Doomsday Subliminalist
A4. Crawl
A5. Neurosleep

Side B:
B1. The Last Picture Show
B2. Orthodox Seduction
B3. Big Brother Doom
B4. Poison Perfomances
B5. Blood Red Eternity

All songs written by Tony Reed in 1988.
Recorded at HeavyHead Recording Co. in March/April 2020.
All sonic manipulations, instruments and vocals by Reed.
Mastered for vinyl by Tony Reed at HeavyHead Recording Company.

Available in the following editions:

DHU Exclusive
• Limited to 90 copies
• Single jacket w/ 3mm spine
• Black flood inside
• 24x17cm 8 page booklet
• Black polylined innersleeve
• Hand numbered DHU Excl. sticker
• Housed in a PVC sleeve
• 33RPM
• Comes on Grey/White/Black Marbled 12″ vinyl

Band Edition
• Limited to 150 copies
• Single jacket w/ 3mm spine
• Black flood inside
• 24x17cm 8 page booklet
• Black polylined innersleeve
• Housed in a PVC sleeve
• 33RPM
• Comes on Yellow/Red Marbled 12″ vinyl

Test Press
• Limited to 10 copies
• Single black jacket w/ 3mm spine
• Thick cardboard w/ alternate artwork
• White polylined innersleeve
• Hand numbered
• Hand stamped
• Deluxe PVC sleeve
• 33RPM
• Comes on Black 12″ vinyl

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.