Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Doctor Smoke stream their brand new album »Dreamers And The Dead«, out now via Ripple Music

American occult doomsters Doctor Smoke stream their brand new album, »Dreamers And The Dead«, which was just released yesterday, September 3rd, 2021 via Ripple Music.

01. Reborn Into Darkness
02. These Horrid Things
03. Waking Dreams
04. Out of Time
05. Been Here Forever
06. What Lies Beyond
07. Dreamers And The Dead
08. Vexed
09. The Rope
10. This Hallowed Ground

Mixed by Mike Ofca at Innovation Studios in Steubenville, Ohio.
Mastered by Tony Lindgren at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden.
Cover art by Adam Burke of Nightjar Illustration.

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Fueled by classic heavy metal and dark heavy rock, Ohio-based occult metal foursome Doctor Smoke return with the follow-up to their revered 2014 debut »The Witching Hour«. Boasting a hair-raising depth of sound, »Dreamers And The Dead« charges ahead through ten tracks of unflinchingly infectious songcraft, crowned by an outstanding performance from Matt Tluchowski on vocals. Metal Injection recently described the album as “a great crossroads between Ghost and Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats in terms of catchiness-meets-heaviness”, so get ready to make your hips sway and raise those horns!

It’s been seven years since Doctor Smoke’s 2014 debut, »The Witching Hour«, which was enough to send the band off touring the East Coast and find them joining forces with Totem Cat Records for a 2015 release. Founded in 2012, the band’s current lineup consists of vocalist/guitarist Matt Tluchowski along with Steve Lehocky on lead guitar, Jeff Young on bass, and Cody Cooke on drums. And rest assured, the energy they bring forth on »Dreamers And The Dead« justifies the loyalty their fanbase has shown them over time. Building on the first album’s accomplishments even as they chase speedy sonic demons down an it’s-not-about-genre highway while remaining so thoroughly in command of what they’re doing you can’t help but follow them.

Photo by Wild Native Photography

“Hooks abound, but the quality of Doctor Smoke’s work has algorithm-punching weight behind it that’s beyond getting stuck in your head. »Reborn into Darkness«, »Waking Dreams«, »Out of Time«, and indeed »This Hallowed Ground« – these are songs that do more than justify the wait for a follow-up from a band who showed so much promise their first time out. They speak to an ethic of creativity that isn’t about this year-end list or that pseudo-critical aplomb but creating a collection of songs for the listener to live with, to take hold of as their own and to embrace beyond the confines of a style or trend. It’s not about capturing the moment, it’s about making it better. If you’re not dreaming, you’re dead. So pick a side already.” (Words by JJ Koczan, The Obelisk)

Doctor Smoke is:
Matt Tluchowski – Vocals, Guitar
Steve Lehocky – Guitar
Jeff Young – Bass
Cody Cooke – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.