Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Doom supergroup MMXX release a visualiser for the new single »Shadow Haven« featuring Dan Swanö (Edge Of Sanity, Nightingale)

Global doom metal supergroup MMXX release a visualiser for the new single »Shadow Haven« featuring Dan Swanö (Edge Of Sanity, Nightingale) on guest vocals.

»Shadow Haven« is the third single taken from the band’s upcoming debut album, »Sacred Cargo«, set to release on November 11th, 2022 via Candlelight Records.

01. This Breath is Not My Breath (feat. Kotamaki, O’Rourke)
02. Perdition Mirror (feat. Moss)
03. The New Forgotten Ones (feat. Ligner)
04. Faint Flickering Light (feat. O’Rourke)
05. The Tower (feat. Moss)
06. Unavailing (feat. Benevento, Cannella)
07. Der Nukleus (feat. Orlando)
08. Sacred Cargo (feat. Stainthorpe)
09. Espirare
10. Shadow Haven (feat. Swanö)

Courtesy of Freeman Promotions:

Global doom metal supergroup MMXX have released the video for the new single »Shadow Haven«, featuring Dan Swanö (Edge Of Sanity/Nightingale).

This is the third single to be released from their forthcoming album »Sacred Cargo«, out November 11 via Candlelight Records. Pre-order it HERE!

»Shadow Haven« bursts forth with sombre grace and melancholy, paving the path for the band’s debut with a rich-textured soundscape, soulful vocals, and powerful beauty.

Drummer Jesse Haff explains, “Andrea [Chiodetti] shared what would become »Shadow Haven« with me at the very end of the writing process for »Sacred Cargo«. Even before Dan Swanö brought his magic to the song, I was immediately hypnotized by the composition, and felt it would be the perfect album finale. Dan’s dynamic vocals then elevated it to a completely different level. We’re all very proud of the final result.

Egan wrote the lyrics about how many of us learned to find peace in the quiet secluded time during pandemic lockdown, despite the misery unfolding around us.”

Born during the initial lockdown of Rome and New York City, and incubated as the seasons passed, doom metal supergroup MMXX are the sound of global isolation.

At the core of MMXX is Andrea Chiodetti (ex-The Foreshadowing) on guitars and keys, Jesse Haff on drums (Daylight Dies and Gökböri), and Egan O’Rourke on bass (Daylight Dies). Together, they channeled inspiration for composition after composition to collaborate with a geographically, culturally, and stylistically diverse collection of celebrated vocalists and musicians from around the world.

“»Sacred Cargo« started during one of the darkest moments of lockdown,” explains guitarist Andrea Chiodetti, “it was a creative expression, processing what was happening to the world around us. What makes this project unique is that every piece and its lyrics (provided by each singer), all composed during the height of the pandemic, is able to give voice to a deeply intimate part of all of us. They’re lyrics that belong to every person who lived through and shared that collective experience.”

The end result, »Sacred Cargo«, is a dynamic and diverse sounding release, simultaneously densely heavy whilst retaining elements of etherealness and light, with each guest vocalist layering in their own perspective to culminate in this eclectic compendium of music reflecting an experience sadly understood by all.

Drummer Jesse Haff adds: “It’s amazing to me that the grand vision of this album – one in which we had different vocalists from around the world contributing their own lockdown experience – was actually achieved. Andrea and I imagined our ideal end result and just went for it but underestimated how much coordination would be required by everyone to truly pull it off. I’m amazed that so many talented people connected with the intent behind the project and agreed to participate. I’m deeply grateful for that. We didn’t have to describe some foreign science fiction concept—unfortunately it is a directly understood reality experienced by all. I think the idea of directly channeling our unique perspectives into a collective expression resonated with everyone, as an obvious way to mark this era of our lives.”

Guest vocalists appearing on »Sacred Cargo« include Dan Swanö of Edge Of Sanity and of Nightingale (Sweden), Yann Ligner of Klone (France), Mick Moss of Antimatter and of Sleeping Pulse (UK), Aaron Stainthorpe of My Dying Bride (UK), Mikko Kotamäki of Swallow The Sun (Finland), Carmelo Orlando of Novembre (Italy), Marco Benevento of The Foreshadowing (Italy), Chris Cannella of Autumns End (USA), and Egan O’Rourke of Daylight Dies (USA).

MMXX are:
Andrea Chiodetti – Guitar, Keyboards
Jesse Haff – Drums
Egan O’Rourke – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.