Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Dream Unending and Worm »Starpath« split LP out now digitally on 20 Buck Spin; physical pre-orders posted for November 24th release!

US atmospheric dream doom duo Dream Unending and black/doom metallers Worm are streaming split album, »Starpath«, out digitally on October 20th, 2023 via 20 Buck Spin. »Starpath« will be available in physical formats on November 24th, 2023.

01. Dream Unending – So Many Chances
02. Dream Unending – If Not Now When
03. Worm – Ravenblood
04. Worm – Midwinter Tears
05. Worm – Sea Of Sorrow

Courtesy of Earsplit PR:

»Starpath«, the themed split LP between Dream Unending and Worm, is out October 20 digitally on 20 Buck Spin, who also now offers the physical preorders for the album ahead of its release next month.

In both 2021 and 2022, Dream Unending and Worm releases closed out the year at 20 Buck Spin. For 2023, to complete the year-end trifecta, the two doomed titans now appear together on one towering release of cosmic duality, »Starpath«.

With both bands dropping major works back-to-back in the previous two years, they became intrinsically linked in the imaginations of their fanbases. And while musically they almost couldn’t be farther apart, the foundational points when exhumed of the Earth, have plenty in common. And so once more, Dream Unending and Worm end the 20 Buck Spin release schedule for the year, this time in conspiracy with one another.

The latest tracks from Dream Unending, »So Many Chances« and »If Not Now When«, further dissolve the goth/post-punk elements that existed within earlier output, continuing to build upon the spacious free-form drift of extended guitar passages, pensively heavy riffs, and Justin DeTore’s thunderous roar. Phil Swanson, who appeared as guest clean vocalist on »Song Of Salvation«, returns again here, and additional Wurlitzer on »So Many Chances« is provided by David Vella. These two extended pieces represent the most realized incarnation yet of where Derrick Vella and Justin DeTore are steering the ship.

Worm, as the unit is now known for, continues to be an ever shape-shifting entity of pure virtuosic blackness. »Ravensblood« embraces vampiric black metal with icy keys and eerie cemetery melodies. The chillingly atmospheric »Midwinter Tears« invokes a snow-covered gothic mood and side ender »Sea Of Sorrow« encapsulates the necromantic shred of lead guitarist Wroth Septentrion over Phantom Slaughter’s idiosyncratic black doom and immortally haunted crypt invocations of vocals, guitars, and synth, and the crush of bassist Necreon and drummer L. Dusk.

Two bands, two unique approaches, a chasmic spectrum of light from radiant impassioned creation to the terminal abyssal darkness of oblivion. Dream Unending and Worm each present over twenty minutes of new music created specifically with the joint release of »Starpath« in mind.

The Dream Unending side was recorded by Arthur Rizk at Redwood Studios in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and Sean Pearson at Boxcar Sound in Hamilton, Ontario in January 2023, and was mixed and mastered by Rizk. Worm’s side was recorded internally and mixed and mastered by Stevie D. at Soundlab. The cover artwork was created by Mark Riddick – his first painting in decades – and the design and layout handled by Phantom Slaughter and Chimere Noire. Fans of Anathema, Evoken, Tiamat, Opeth, Trouble, Katatonia, Abigor, Thorns of the Carrion, Christian Death, Limbonic Art, King Diamond, Death, Emperor, and Obtained Enslavement should not miss this split.

The Dream Unending and Worm »Starpath« split is available digitally everywhere now, including YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

»Starpath« will be released on LP, MC, CD on November 24th. Find physical preorders at the 20 Buck Spin shop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.