Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Dream Unending stream the new single »The Needful« from their upcoming debut album »Tide Turns Eternal«

US death/doom metal outfit Dream Unending stream the new single »The Needful« from their upcoming debut album, »Tide Turns Eternal«, set to release on November 19th, 2021 via 20 Buck Spin with vinyl version following on February 4th, 2022.

»The Needful« is available now via Bandcamp, YouTube and various streaming platforms.

01. Entrance
02. Adorned In Lies
03. In Cipher I Weep
04. The Needful
05. Dream Unending
06. Forgotten Farewell
07. Tide Turns Eternal

From 20 Buck Spin:

Derrick Vella (Tomb Mold) and Justin DeTore (Innumerable Forms) have joined their dark psyches and deliberate, distinctive approaches to create Dream Unending. While it might be possible to point to certain elements of their debut LP »Tide Turns Eternal« that are familiar in that regard, the fact is Dream Unending takes these two stalwarts of the modern underground death metal scene in some entirely new and unexpected directions, offering the first glimpse of what promises to be a constantly evolving form.

Imbued with the dark atmosphere and wilting romanticism of the legendary »Peaceville 3«, (Anathema in particular), Dream Unending merely uses that moment in time as a starting point to compose songs that drift between emotional states both forlorn and uplifting. Ascendent Floydian guitar textures and sparkling The Cure-esque strumming lift »Tide Turns Eternal« out of the purely metal realm, where moody rock introspection allows for Elysian respite before DeTore’s world crushing roar assures no escape from earthly tumult is certain.

Yet »Tide Turns Eternal« is more a fever dream than the perpetual nightmare typical of the genre, a place where guarded hope is as possible and real as despair. In that way Dream Unending step into riskier territory, free to explore the vivid spectrum of human sentiment that ultimately leads away from the nihilism of everlasting pain.


Derrick Vella – Guitar, 12 String Guitar, Bass, Fretless Bass
Justin DeTore – Drums, Vocals

Recorded by Sean Pearson at Boxcar Studios and Arthur Rizk at Solomon’s Temple
Mixed by Arthur Rizk and John Powers
Mastered by Arthur Rizk
Artwork by Matthew Jaffe
Logo by Jesse Jacobi
Album layout by Chimère Noire

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.