Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Dutch heavy rockers The Machine released their seventh full-length album »Wave Cannon«, out now via Majestic Mountain Records

Dordrecht, Netherlands based legendary heavy rockers The Machine have just released their seventh full-length album »Wave Cannon« on May 12th, 2023 via Majestic Mountain Records.

01. Reversion
02. Genau Or Never
03. Glider
04. Ride On Crash Kick
05. Return To Sphere (Kneiter II)
06. Wave Cannon

Courtesy of Sheltered Life PR:

Majestic Mountain Records is thrilled to announce the official release of the seventh studio album by cult Dutch power trio.

“»Wave Cannon« states clearly they are able to do whatever they want and make it their own. An absolute victory for a group whose presence in Europe’s heavy underground has never felt more essential.” — The Obelisk

Originally formed in 2007, Dordrecht’s The Machine returns this May with a reinvigorated sense of purpose that finds them stepping back from the noise rock-centred influence of their 2018 album »Faceshift«, to take cues from the heavier sides of shoegaze, progressive rock, and psychedelia.

Reconnecting with their spaced-out past, over six tracks »Wave Cannon« has plenty to offer both new audiences and devoted fans alike. Confidently building outward from a core of solid thunder pop, draped in fuzz and feedback, the focus is chiefly on song craft, as is evident on their storming new single, »Reversion«.

Photo by David Lebowski

“It’s no coincidence that our new song is also the first track on »Wave Cannon«,” explains guitarist/vocalist David Eering. “It sets the tone for the rest of the album and has a mellower, old-school-Machine vibe, but even better with more attention to melody. The video is a visual interpretation of the music too, which focuses on the important things in life. But backwards. I suppose you just have to watch it.”

From Russia to Portugal and everywhere in between, since 2009 The Machine has played clubs across Europe and appeared at festivals such as Roadburn, Sonic Blast, Desert Fest, and Freak Valley, serving as one of the forebearers of the European stoner rock scene.

»Wave Cannon« also marks the trio’s first outing with new bass player Chris Both whose skilful presence contributes a refreshing and powerful swagger to the trademark, punishing guitar play of Eering’s guitar work. Produced by Eering himself and mastered by fellow Dutchman; sonic wizard and legendary producer Pieter Kloos (Motorpsycho, The Devil’s Blood, Dool), »Wave Cannon« is released on 12th May 2023 on Majestic Mountain Records. Pre-order here:

All songs by The Machine.
All words by David Eering.
Performed by David Eering (guitars & vocals), Chris Both (bass) and Davy Boogaard (drums).
Recorded, produced & mixed by David Eering.
Mastered by Pieter Kloos at The Void (Eindhoven, NL).

The Machine is:
David Eering – Guitar and Vocals
Chris Both – Bass
Klaas Dijkstra – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.