Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Dutch one-man doom/death metal band The Sombre released his third full-length album »Monuments Of Grief« via Chaos Records

Dutch one-man doom/death metal band The Sombre has just released his third full-length album »Monuments Of Grief« on August 19th, 2022 via Chaos Records.

01. The Depths Of Misery
02. My Desolation
03. The Mourning Gloom
04. Monuments Of Grief
05. When Death Comes I Will Be Beside You
06. Paradise Regained

Courtesy of Chaos Records:

Chaos Records is proud to present The Sombre’s highly anticipated third album, »Monuments Of Grief«, on CD format.

The Sombre is the work of Maurice de Jong, insanely prolific mainman of Gnaw Their Tongues, De Magia Veterum, Cloak Of Altering, Hagetisse, Golden Ashes, and countless others. With The Sombre, however, de Jong returns to his roots. Having spent his formative musical years in doom and doom-death metal bands (1989-1996: Atrocious, Cauteror, and Soulwound), de Jong here reimagines the sound of his youth: doom-death metal inspired by the “Peaceville Three” and other early ’90s doom/death pioneers.

The Sombre’s debut album, »Into The Beckoning Wilderness«, was released in June 2019 in a strictly limited edition of 50 CD-Rs, which sold out immediately, of course. Fans of both his work in The Sombre and elsewhere, Chaos Records released a worldwide CD edition of »Into The Beckoning Wilderness« in March 2021, and now continues to foster than megaton-heavy sadness with the band’s brand-new third album, »Monuments Of Grief«.

Almost too perfectly titled, »Monuments Of Grief« is perhaps the most poignant distillation yet of The Sombre’s heartwrenching style of doom-death. De Jong doesn’t step too far away from the miserable majesty of those preceding two records, but there’s an ever-so-slight expansion of atmosphere across »Monuments Of Grief«, as the man expertly swathes his towering creations with subtle synth and plaintive piano, all while always allowing the CRUSH of sadness to wash over the listener. But, like those two preceding tomes, »Monuments Of Grief« once again features a deftly finessed sense of space; the subterranean roar of de Jong’s voice plumbs deeper depths, but somehow with more clarity here. Most of all, de Jong’s melodies are more pronounced and earworming, evincing something of an early Katatonia vibe. All told, it’s another triumph of tragedy for The Sombre.

And, just like Chaos’ well-received release of »Into The Beckoning Wilderness«, whether one chooses to drown in their sorrows or be emboldened by them with a suiting soundtrack is up to each individual. The Sombre will take you there either way as you contemplate these »Monuments Of Grief«…

»Monuments Of Grief« was recorded in 2022 by Maurice de Jong at DBJ III, Drachten, The Netherlands.
All music and lyrics written by Maurice de Jong.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.