Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Electric Octopus to release their latest album »St. Patrick’s Cough« on vinyl via Interstellar Smoke Records

Belfast, Northern Ireland based psychedelic blues rock jam trio Electric Octopus will release their latest album »St. Patrick’s Cough« on vinyl via Interstellar Smoke Records.

Pre-orders will be available on July 15th, 2022.

01. Turnkey
02. Leighton Buzzard
03. Restaurant Banking
04. a2enmod
05. St. Peter
06. Focal Swan
07. Lémon Rage
08. Universal Knife
09. St. Patrick’s Cough
10. Consonance
11. You Have To Be Stupid To See That
12. Sunthing
13. Town

Drums on »Lémon Rage« by Cora Hamill.
Art by Tyrell Black.
Inner sleeve art & videos by Liquidacje.

Courtesy of Infecting Cells PR:

“Over the last few years, Belfast-based trio Electric Octopus have emerged as something of a sonic law unto themselves. Equal parts intuitive and boundlessly inspired, their ever-changing explorations of the psychedelic unknown is something that inspired many on our scene.

Thank you to everyone for the support over the years.

The majority of this album was recorded in Holywell, nestled inbetween the mountains of county Fermanagh and county Leitrim. A short walk from St Patrick’s holy well. The water is reputed to be the coldest in Ireland, and is a site of pilgrimage for local people. The upwelling has a yield of about 600 gallons per minute and flows off into two streams, each flowing in a different direction. A magical place and the namesake of this album.

We spent a time playing sporadically during the pandemic, split across continents and then landmasses. Here we have brought together the different elements we each gathered on our respective journeys.

Rather than releasing quickly, we took the time, worked on the mixes and got the best audio aesthetics possible. This is a constant learning experience, and thankyou for coming for the ride.

We are now all living on the same landmass again, watch this space.

Thanks a million,
Electric Octopus”

Electric Octopus is:
Guy Hetherington – Drums
Tyrell Black – Didgeridoo, Guitar
Dale Hughes – Bass, Synthesiser

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.