Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Finnish dark/goth rock outfit Throat presents their new full-length album »We Must Leave You«, out now via Svart Records

Turku, Finland based dark/goth rockers Throat are back with their new full-length album, »We Must Leave You«, which was released on October 27th, 2023 via Svart Records.

Listen to »We Must Leave You« on all major streaming platforms!

01. Negative Lite
02. Heaven Hanged
03. The Transaction
04. Trespassing
05. Hearsay Or Heresy
06. Tiny Golden Murder
07. Valedictory

Courtesy of Svart Records:

For 14 years Throat have been the sonic equivalent of forcing a square peg into a round hole; often abrasive, causing utmost irritation at times and on a rare occasion a feverishly pleasant dose of brooding darkness in one’s otherwise dull existence.

The peg now fits. »We Must Leave You« sees Throat dropping pegs of all shape and size through the same hole. The last confines of musical genres are behind them, resulting in an album which can be regarded as the easiest listening Throat has ever presented or simultaneously their most difficult and puzzling work to date.

Thematically what we have here is a breakup album. Never ones for thinking small, Throat breaks up with the world. Enough is enough. Bring back lockdown. No need for petty social commentary on how the world is burning. Let it burn. Throat is already walking away and it remains to be seen where they end up next. If anywhere.

Breakups always require dramatic music and »We Must Leave You« more than fits the purpose. Throat have already hinted at new directions and new sounds on their previous two albums, but here it all breaks loose. Rooted in the same heavy, dark rock sound as always, but a touch of gothic drama from the 80s has been injected to the band’s sonic palette which obviously means a few deeper shades of black. The noise and dissonance remains, but this time it all has been dipped in honey and black grease paint.

The second single »Tiny Golden Murder« stands as the life and death of the party on »We Must Leave You«. Already proven to be a floor filler on a few live occasions, it’s easily the closest Throat has ever come to a rock anthem. On the other hand, the refrain “Terminate us all” can be a sharp pill to swallow for the average party people. For Throat, that’s where the real party begins. It’s a last call for alcohol and a last call for everything.

»We Must Leave You« was written over a few years time and finally recorded in 2023 at Tonehaven Recording Studio with Tom Brooke and the band’s own Amplified Human Audio. Once again, Andrew Schneider mixed the album at Acre Audio and Carl Saff handled mastering duties at Saff Mastering. Photography by Dorota Brzezicka and design by Stefan Alt of Ant-Zen.

Pre-order »We Must Leave You« LP/CD:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.