Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Finnish doom/death metal band Infirmum releases new single »Sleep Of Reason« – a song about existential despair!

Jyväskylä, Finland based doom/death metal band Infirmum releases a lyric video for their new single »Sleep Of Reason«.

»Sleep Of Reason« just dropped today, January 13, 2023 and is available on all streaming platforms!

Recorded by Joonas Siikavirta at Infirmum Dungeons.
Drums recorded by Samu Oittinen at Fantom Studios.
Mixed and mastered by Joonas Siikavirta.
Cello played by Teemu Mastovaara.

Courtesy of Inverse Records:

Melodic doom/death metal band Infirmum has released a new single »Sleep Of Reason«. The band was formed early 2019 and they have released full album »Walls of Sorrow« 2020 and EP »The Great Unknown« 2022. Melancholic, dark, gloomy, full of emotions. These words would describe our atmospheric journey with beauty and the beast through the darkness.

Vocalist Anna Rose backgrounds the song: “This is a song that started taking its first shape a few years ago, before I even joined Infirmum. It is a song born of frustration, meant to express the despair of existing in an ever more uncertain world. While it is a salve, a way to vent all those feelings, it is also a herald of our doom. If I ever wrote an actual funeral dirge, this is it!”

Guitar player Timo Solonen continues: “As soon as Anna joined Infirmum in the summer 2020, she told she had lyrics ready for a song called Sleep of Reason. She also had vocal melodies ready for the chorus. I did my best to compose whole song around the chorus’s vocal melodies and get the atmosphere to be right for the song based on the lyrics.

Photo by Alex Sleäze / Cerulean Midnight

I think results are quite good but wasn’t easy I have to say. Teemu Mastovaara did arrangements for the cello and perfect job he did. Also Erna’s keyboards, Hanska’s drums, Joonas’s guitars and bass are excellent. Eliel’s growls works perfectly. And Anna? Well, you really have to love her voice. This is end of an era.”

Infirmum’s line-up is: Anna Rose as vocalist, Taka Eliel (Sanctuary Of Hate) as vocalist and bassist, Erna Siikavirta (previously in Lordi, Children Of Bodom as session keyboards, Sinergy as session keyboards, Arthemesia and Deathlike Silence) on keyboards, Joonas Siikavirta (Begrim) on guitar, Timo Solonen on guitar, Hanna-Leena “Hanska” (Mourning Wood) on drums, and Elya on cello.

Listen to the single on music services:

More info:

Infirmum is:
Anna Rose – Vocals
Taka Eliel – Growls
Timo Solonen – Guitars
Joonas Siikavirta – Bass
Erna Siikavirta – Keyboards
“Hanska” Lassila – Drums
Elya – Cello

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.