Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Finnish post-metal band Sargassus releases their new EP »King Of The Sun« today via Inverse Records!

Tampere, Finland based progressive/black/post-metal band Sargassus premiere their new EP, »King Of The Sun«, which was just released today, August 17th, 2023 via Inverse Records.

01. Dies Iræ
02. Queen Of The Moon
03. Breed Of The Exodus
04. King Of The Sun

Courtesy of Inverse Records:

Unleashing their most audacious offering to date, Sargassus present their new EP, »King Of The Sun«, a monstrous addition to their progressive death metal discography. These four tracks, composed in an intuitive manner in live jamming sessions and recorded in 2023, forge a unique sonic landscape that stands as testament to the band’s unyielding artistic evolution. The members of Sargassus continue to refine their skills weaving intricate, complex musical structures with raw, powerful emotion.

This EP encapsulates the relentless spirit of the genre while offering new layers of depth and complexity, with the songs being all the more atmospheric as the band aims to paint an eerie backdrop to the increased technicality of the songs. Samu Oittinen – the legendary producer responsible for the new EP’s mix and master – made sure to fulfil the band’s vision about organic yet brutal and atmospheric soundscape. The lyrical themes of the EP heavily draw inspiration from the epic of Lucien, the first ever science fiction story to be told and recorded in history.

Strange entities with selfish causes wage a cosmic war for the ownership of planet Venus, with even stranger armies ushered into pyrrhic battles. The EP reflects upon this madness as well as the needless suffering of all involved, with no clear victor to claim the prize in the end.

Listen »King Of The Sun« EP:

Photo by Joonas Leskinen

Operating somewhere in the depths of post-metal and progressive death metal, Sargassus is sure to attract the fans of many metal subgenres with their unique style. The band was established more than ten years ago by guitarist Teemu Leskinen and drummer Matias Rokio. Years of playing and practising together laid the ground for what Sargassus is today. Interestingly, most songs are composed intuitively in live jamming sessions by Rokio and Leskinen, which is a result of their long history of playing together and creating their musical connection. The debut EP »The Giant« was composed over a period of 2 years and finalized when Matias Stenman joined the band on vocals in 2020. In July 2021 the band released a single »Tiamat« that was a definite step forward after »The Giant«. Only 6 months later the band released an EP »The Albatross« that introduced improved production quality coupled with all the more progressive touch that received great feedback from critics and live audiences alike. During 2022 Sargassus kept on composing new material and as a result, during 2023 they recorded their latest EP »King Of The Sun« that is the band’s most ambitious release so far. Thematically the band draw their inspiration from mythology and literature.

Mixed & mastered by Samu Oittinen.
Vocal production by Raging Cannon.
EP cover by Matias Stenman.

Teemu Leskinen – Guitar
Matias Rokio – Drums
Matias Stenman – Vocals
Jukka Teppola – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.