Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Finnish post-punk outfit Grave Pleasures return with their third full-length album »Plagueboys«, out now via Century Media Records

Finnish post-punk outfit Grave Pleasures featuring Mat McNerney (Hexvessel) and Juho Vanhanen (Oranssi Pazuzu) is back with their third full-length album, »Plagueboys«, which was just released this past Friday, April 21st, 2023 via Century Media Records.

01. Disintegration Girl
02. Heart Like A Slaughterhouse
03. When The Shooting’s Done
04. High On Annihilation
05. Lead Balloons
06. Imminent Collapse
07. Society Of Spectres
08. Conspiracy Of Love
08. Plagueboys
10. Tears On The Camera Lens

Courtesy of C Squared Music:

On April 21st, Finnish post-punk outfit Grave Pleasures released their third full-length, »Plagueboys«, via Century Media Records.

With music written by McNerney (Hexvessel, Carpenter Brut, Me & That Man) and guitarists Juho Vanhanen (Oranssi Pazuzu) and Aleksi Kiiskilä, and then arranged together with Arino and drummer Rainer Tuomikanto, »Plagueboys« sees the lineup, who frantically hacked out »Motherblood« together, come of age and find their superpowers. Recorded in Finland and produced by Vanhanen and his Oranssi Pazuzu comrade Niko Lehdontie at the controls, the sound on »Plagueboys« is a blistering wash of reverb and neon warehouse dancefloor; unabashed lone drum and bass carrion call give way to synth and guitar interplay that brings to mind British grandmasters Wire, The Sound And Echo & The Bunnymen through a contemporary lens.

Formed in 2015, after the dissolution of singer Mat McNerney and bassist Valtteri Arino’s short-lived sensation Beastmilk, Grave Pleasures have defiantly expanded on what has been described as their “war-cry for the eternally doomed,” with each album seeing their song-craft reach new heights. Their raw atomic punk of their major label debut album »Dreamcrash« (2015) was revamped and contorted into the uplifting nihilism of distinctly more frenetic sophomore smash-hit album »Motherblood« (2017), ultimately amped up and finessed into the heady »Plagueboys« (2023), their most mature yet dangerous album to-date. With the electrifying contradiction of light and darkness, the duality of the funereal Grave and euphoric Pleasure in their moniker, »Plagueboys« is an exhilarating, tear-filled, grinning dance of death, undoubtedly their most pleasurable yet.

Photo by Tekla Vály

Order »Plagueboys« now at THIS LOCATION where the record is available in the following versions:
• CD Digipak
• Black LP (incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)
• Transparent blue LP available from CM Distro Wholesale EU and (limited to 300 copies; incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)
• Yellow LP available from UK outlets, Levykauppa Äx, Nuclear Blast (limited to 300 copies; incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)
• Lilac LP available from Grave Pleasures via Evil Greed (limited to 300 copies; incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)
• Digital album

Album artwork by Tekla Vály.

Grave Pleasures line-up:
Valtteri Arino – Bass
Juho Vanhanen – Guitar
Mat McNerney – Vocals
Aleksi Kiiskilä – Guitar
Rainer Tuomikanto – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.